Thai Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was just like the restaurant's peanut cucumber salad that I always order. The only difference is that they also serve it with some shredded carrots and chopped red onion which I added. It's more sweet then spicy so if you want a little more zing then sweet, I suggest that you add an extra jalapeno and cut the sugar by 1/3. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was tasty. I made this in advance and the cucumber shed all the water so it really had a lot of liquid in it. next time I'll remember to assemble it shortly before I eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I recently helped my date make this salad for dinner and it turned out amazing. The salad is very easy to make and the flavors are very refreshing. If you’re looking for a simple salad give this one a try and you won’t be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I have no regrets for trying this, but I don't plan on making it again. Even cutting back on the sugar (I used Splenda) and vinegar this was still a little too sweet and tangy for me. The peanuts didn't appeal to me, so I omitted them, and I do admit that may have compromised the ultimate intent of this recipe both in flavor as well as contrasts in textures. Still, it's a good salad we had no problem eating, and I liked the additions of the cilantro and jalapeno, which not only pepped the flavor up, but made this a very pretty salad as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This was very good! The mix of flavors was wonderful. We really liked the cilantro and jalapeno in this. Great way to use up home grown cukes! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This wasn't bad but I wasn't completely satisfied (I'd probably give it a 4.5 if that was an option). I think it might be helpful for the cucumbers to be sliced into strips in order for the flavor of the cucumber to be infused with the strong cilantro-vinegar dressing. Also, it's crucial to use fresh jalapenos - the canned ones just won't cut it. We actually ate this with turkey tacos and they were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was sooo good! I added fresh basil and crushed red pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Enjoyed this easy salad which could be served as a side dish or on its own for lunch. Added some red onion slices for color, served on lettuce leaves with a squeeze of lime. I didn't measure the salt, and I think I may have added too much because even after rinsing really well and patting dry, the cukes still were pretty salty. My bad, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I've made this few times already. This salad was delicious and it did taste like something from a Thai restaurant. First time I made this, I only used 1 cucumber so I used 1/8 cup each of sugar and vinegar. Then I made with 2 cucmbers with 1/4 cup each of sugar and vinegar and both time came out great. I think the taste settles and is better if you could wait 15-30 minutes before serving. But not too long! I took some left over for lunch to see if this can be my next pot luck dish but unless you like very soft cumcumber, it wasn't good as fresh crunchy one... I guess I have to separate the cucumbers and the dressing until the last minute or I might keep the cucumber skin on and see how it holds. Anyways, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Excellent just as it is. No changes needed. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States