Thai Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Easy to make. I didn't have jalapenos, so I omitted them and added a dash of ground black peppercorns instead. The only changes that I would make next time are to add slices of red onion and slivers of carrots as the other reviewers suggested. Also, maybe a bit of purple cabbage for color and additional flavor and texture, and cut back a bit on the sugar. I am not a big fan of spicy foods, but next time I may be more bold and try at least one jalapeno. One note, the sugar never fully dissolved as the recipe states, although I gave it a fairly long and vigorous whisking. My friend who is visiting out of town (and is Thai!) said that she's never heard of or tried this recipe before, but gave it two enthusiastic thumbs up and had seconds, so as far as I'm concerned, it past the test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carabiniero8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
easy, delicious and favorful. didn't change anything except to use rice wine vinegar with pepper flakes for a llittle extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Absolutely amazing! My husband makes this for potlucks and picnics, and he always gets so many compliments and requests for the recipe! He doesn't change a thing, this recipe is PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Delicious and low cal. I cut the sugar back though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I added pineapple to this recipe. It was awesome. Everyone loved it. So simple, and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theblessedchef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I only added 1/4 cup sugar and 1/3 cup vingar just becuase 1/2 cup of sugar was just way to sweet and 1//2 vingar is just too much liquid for me. Other than that, I love all the flavors. It's a great summer side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
yummy and easy - great kick with the jalapeño! If I made it again I'd probably cut back the sugar, it's a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
So simple and delicious! I used cashews instead of peanuts...just a personal preference..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Since the sugar and vinegar ratio is the same, the dressing is very sweet. I added enough sugar to suit my taste. I skipped the draining part in favor of lightly salting the cucumbers. I also added about a 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder to the dressing. I let mine sit in the fridge for a couple of hours before serving. They were delicious. I served as a side salad with the Kalua Pig in Slow Cooker recipe from this site. A very good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
We really enjoyed this recipe! Love the unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States