Thai Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This has become a family favorite! The sweet and tangy flavors even get my picky 6 year old fighting for the last "cuke" in the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karma W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was just ok in our opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Flavour was good, but even after letting it dehydrate with salt as suggested for about 40 minutes, the salad became very runny. I drained it before actually serving and felt like I should have drained it again half way through service. I used a little oyster sauce in the dressing in replacement of some of the rice vinegar. That was an improvement I think. Next time I'd add some lemongrass to the dressing to jazz it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Pretty good.... I prefer Adrienne's cucumber salad a *tad* better (both have a sweet-tart taste), but really enjoyed the uniqueness of this one. The jalapeno, peanuts and (especially) the cilantro were nice touches. My neighbor commented that she could barely taste the jalapeno tho (I agree). She asked what the green "thingies" were, and when I told her jalapenos, she was surprised. :) NOTE: DO NOT omit the peanuts. They may seem odd, but add an interesting texture (and taste!) that just can't be beat. Ditto for the cilantro. While I'm glad to have given this a try, I do not cook this type of cuisine often and therefore will probably not add this to my recipe box. Thanks for sharing, camp0433! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made this for a pot-luck, and it went fast; I almost didn't get a taste! At first I thought the rice vinegar/sugar dressing was rather bland, so I added a tablespoon of chili paste with basil leaves, which you can get at an asian grocery store. I also added sliced red peppers and crispy rice noodles to the salad, and it was wonderful! This is my new favorite salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Soaking the cucumbers in salt for 30 minutes boosted the flavor. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarvinKitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I did not have peanuts but I replaced them with pine nuts and it was still very good! Light and refreshing! We paired it with some cilantro fried rice and pork-excellent combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Great salad for picnics!!! Refreshing and just enough tang to make it good.. My mom even took this recipe from me and is using it as her own :) I have to admit I used more peanuts in mine though, i just like peanuts..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I made this for a Thai pot-luck dinner and everyone LOVED it... I do recommend halving the dressing as other folks have posted, way to much dressing to salad ratio. I also added a small diced red pepper for color (also recommended by other posts that I read)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I followed this recipes exactly and it was a big hit at a family barbecue. I have already been asked to make it again for the next party! Simple to make and delicious to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States