Thai Coconut and Cocoa Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Just awesome. It took me a couple tries to get it right--looking up a tutorial on how to make macaroons properly really helped. I also found that I had to shop the bulk aisle in my Whole Foods to find coconut that was not sweetened. Now these are part of my regular cookie arsenal, and really add some variety to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Mine didn't turn out very well! I followed the instructions and the meringue turned out well, but I think they needed twice the amount of coconut to really be macaroons. They weren't bad tasting, but the texture was off. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I added more lime and some lime zest and skipped out on the cocoa powder (my husbands request.) We really liked the cookies although it took me 15 minutes to get the meringue right. Next time I'm doubling the recipe because my husband gobbled them all up so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smicer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Mine came out nothing like the picture...needed more coconut? They were really sweet and flat. Looked more like cocoa cookies than macaroons. The taste was good, I just wish they looked like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I was so happy to find a recipe for macaroons that didn't use sweetened condensed milk. It was a little too sweet for my family, but it had a good texture and it was easy to make. I also had to lengthen the baking time to about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Very nice light cookie to have with tea. They turned out more of a meringue then a macaroon cookie. I would recommend using parchment paper to line the cookie sheet if your pan is not non stick. I had to cook the cookies 10 minutes longer due to high humidity. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Honestly, this was my first macaroon recipe I've ever tried. I liked it! I doubled the recipe and followed exactly. The cookies were light and fluffy, yet chewy at the same time. We are big coconut lovers so this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States