Thai Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
The recipe is a start, but you need to add some kick to it....Being very familiar with Thai cooking, I used yellow round onion in hot oil with a few drops of sesame oil. A couple cloves of mince garlic an about a teaspoon of minced ginger was thrown in when browning the chicken. The I added more curry to spice it up a bit and used sliced bamboo shoots in addition to the carrots and snow peas. This needs sea salt both in browning the chicken and a little at serving time. Garnished it with Cilantro and Green Onions at serving time as well. The family loved it... A side note, your imagination can enhance any recipe to your taste. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donald Fleming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Not bad once garlic and cilantro were added. A bit bland otherwise. I used peas instead of snow peas. Kids didn't exactly love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Quick & tasty! Will do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Very average. Too spicy even with a mild curry. I added the ginger and garlic and found it still wasn't very good. No one liked in my family liked this. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Very good - A little salty (and I used low sodium Soy Sauce too) but it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
nothing really special but ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diniele

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
The recipe was very quick and easy, but as written is very bland. I would add ginger, garlic, and more curry to kick it up a notch. It's a good start for an easy thai dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Fielden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This is not to my liking as is. Super bland. I hated to waste the whole thing so I added smoked paprika, tandoori seasoning, lemon juice (I didn't have lime or I would have used that), ginger, cayenne pepper. I kept on tasting and adding. This made it edible but I'll not be making this again. I was thrilled to find an easy coconut milk recipe but there is no such thing! It takes time and lots of ingredients to develop the exotic flavors of good Thai food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
bland and boring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States