Thai Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2000
Was browsing for a fun new jasmine rice recipe. Boy , did I ever find it!! This "dish" has it all! It's a meal-in-one and fit for the most elegant dinner party. The coconut milk adds such a flavorful addition to all the veggies. 5 stars!! Lynn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I found this to be really tasty and easy. I used probably double the curry called for, and added probably close to the same amount of chili powder. I didn't have the exact vegetables on hand, but I had planned on leaving the asparagus out anyway since I don't like it. Instead, I used some frozen stirfry-style veggies that I had, which contained pea pods, red peppers, babycorn, carrots and bamboo shoots. I did have fresh green onions to use, however. I used regular white rice instead of jasmine, since to me, jasmine rice tastes like drinking perfume. ;) Overall, I loved this recipe and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2000
This dish is *delicious*, looks great and is *incredibly* easy to make. I've made it twice in the last week to 'great applause' and am looking forward to serving it to friends this weekend. I love recipes like this, - try it - you won't be disappointed....... Geraldine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
Very easy, quick and with great results !! I used green curry paste and added some fresh cilantro. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
Delicious! I varied the vegetables for what I had, but it's definitely a favourite new recipe. I love the use of asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
When I read this recipe I thought "Hmmm...no salt???" I knew it would be too bland for me if I made it that way. I'm all about high blood pressure (just kidding) ;) Anyway, I added about a tsp of salt to the chicken and curry powder as well as a little cayenne pepper. As I sauteed the chicken I added about two tsp of fish sauce (what is Thai food without fish sauce??) I didn't have any jasmine rice on hand so I used short grain sticky rice and oh my goodness...the way that coconut sauce melds with the rice is pure ambrosia! I also wouldn't say this is a lower fat recipe, if you use a can of regular coconut milk as the recipe states it is nearly pure fat! 12 grams per serving to be exact...but we live once, and I personally wouldn't substitute low fat coconut milk in this recipe...so I'm all about clogging my arteries as well LOL but who cares, this was DELICIOUS! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
what a wonderfully romantic addition to a romantic day on the beach... a glass of wine... chicken curry.. watching the sun set from the Patio...mmmm The addition of salt, garam masala and full fat coconut milk do the trick... cilantro and lemon grass really kick it up... lemon sorbet with a Tbl of Vodka for dessert..mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This recipie is extremly easy. The key to the taste is getting the right chili powder..I suggest going to an indian/chinese ethnic store to find the right chili powder. To make this recipie simple buy a simply ready made stir fry mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I cooked this as the main dish for my family for a celebration, and everyone LOVED it. I made a few changes, such as I added garam masala with the spices, and used cayenne to really give it some kick. I made a large amount, so I added everything to taste, but I think I ended up using alot of curry also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
this dish was so easy and tasty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States