Thai Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2000
Was browsing for a fun new jasmine rice recipe. Boy , did I ever find it!! This "dish" has it all! It's a meal-in-one and fit for the most elegant dinner party. The coconut milk adds such a flavorful addition to all the veggies. 5 stars!! Lynn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2000
This dish is *delicious*, looks great and is *incredibly* easy to make. I've made it twice in the last week to 'great applause' and am looking forward to serving it to friends this weekend. I love recipes like this, - try it - you won't be disappointed....... Geraldine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
Very easy, quick and with great results !! I used green curry paste and added some fresh cilantro. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
Delicious! I varied the vegetables for what I had, but it's definitely a favourite new recipe. I love the use of asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
We were looking for something different and this is certainly it. I was confused right away because the ingredient list said curry paste but cooking instructions said curry powder. I bought the paste just for this recipe and we loved the flavor. Also, unless jasmine rice cooks up different, I used 1 1/3 cup dry basmati rice and made a big bowl of rice pudding with the leftover rice. My 11 year old hated it and he is usually pretty open minded with my cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
This recipe was okay. I think it has a lot of potential, though. I would use less rice. I would also use more/different vegetables: broccoli florets, red pepper and, perhaps, baby carrots instead of shredded carrot (which did nothing for flavour nor presentation). The delicate flavour of aspragus was overshadowed by the curry so I will omit it next time (especially since asparagus isn't cheap). Lastly, I would use non-lite coconut milk. I had a can of lite coconut milk and I think it has less flavour. It might be worth the calories to use the real stuff. I look forward to trying this recipe again (with some modifications). We really enjoyed the chicken. It was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I thought this was very yummy. I used a bit more curry powder (hot madras) and used green beans, carrot slices, red peppers, and potatoes like a dish in the thai restaurant I like does. My husband thought it was good, but said there was something missing. It was fairly healthy with the lite coconut milk and veggies. Easy to make especially since you don't have to marinate ahead of time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
When I read this recipe I thought "Hmmm...no salt???" I knew it would be too bland for me if I made it that way. I'm all about high blood pressure (just kidding) ;) Anyway, I added about a tsp of salt to the chicken and curry powder as well as a little cayenne pepper. As I sauteed the chicken I added about two tsp of fish sauce (what is Thai food without fish sauce??) I didn't have any jasmine rice on hand so I used short grain sticky rice and oh my goodness...the way that coconut sauce melds with the rice is pure ambrosia! I also wouldn't say this is a lower fat recipe, if you use a can of regular coconut milk as the recipe states it is nearly pure fat! 12 grams per serving to be exact...but we live once, and I personally wouldn't substitute low fat coconut milk in this recipe...so I'm all about clogging my arteries as well LOL but who cares, this was DELICIOUS! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Good recipe, but regular curry powder doesn't make this taste anything like a Thai curry. Regular curry powder is, from my experience, more of an Indian curry flavor. My husband and I ate a yellow curry dish at a Thai restaurant just a few days before making this recipe, and it was nothing like the dish we made at home. Even though it was not much of a Thai curry, though, it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This recipe is quite good, we made a couple of minor changes. We steamed the asparagus, pea pods and carrots, otherwise they were just too hard. Also julienned the snow peas, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States