Thai Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
I liked this; however, I doctored it up quite a bit. I precooked the vegetables on some medium heat in some chicken broth before adding the chicken...I was afraid of too-crunchy vegetables. Incidentally, I had no green onions and just chopped up a regular brown onion I had in the pantry. It was fine. I also added some chili pepper and some red chili flakes to the curry powder for an extra kick. Salting to taste is a must. And I merely served it over sticky white rice which turned out just fine. My husband liked all the new and unusual tastes, textures and spices. Good recipe to mix things up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISONHALEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
Good for a quick dinner, but no real coconut flavor. I added a fourth teaspoon of cayenne, and almost-cooked the vegetables before adding them so they'd be done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Good recipe. I used baby carrots instead of shredded carrots, and used only half of the coconut milk. Also added chili powder to give it a kick. It turned out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LONESTAR1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This recipie is extremly easy. The key to the taste is getting the right chili powder..I suggest going to an indian/chinese ethnic store to find the right chili powder. To make this recipie simple buy a simply ready made stir fry mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
This was really bland. It needed a lot of salt and something else that we couldn't figure out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
what a wonderfully romantic addition to a romantic day on the beach... a glass of wine... chicken curry.. watching the sun set from the Patio...mmmm The addition of salt, garam masala and full fat coconut milk do the trick... cilantro and lemon grass really kick it up... lemon sorbet with a Tbl of Vodka for dessert..mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
This recipe is quite good, we made a couple of minor changes. We steamed the asparagus, pea pods and carrots, otherwise they were just too hard. Also julienned the snow peas, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Good recipe, but regular curry powder doesn't make this taste anything like a Thai curry. Regular curry powder is, from my experience, more of an Indian curry flavor. My husband and I ate a yellow curry dish at a Thai restaurant just a few days before making this recipe, and it was nothing like the dish we made at home. Even though it was not much of a Thai curry, though, it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
When I read this recipe I thought "Hmmm...no salt???" I knew it would be too bland for me if I made it that way. I'm all about high blood pressure (just kidding) ;) Anyway, I added about a tsp of salt to the chicken and curry powder as well as a little cayenne pepper. As I sauteed the chicken I added about two tsp of fish sauce (what is Thai food without fish sauce??) I didn't have any jasmine rice on hand so I used short grain sticky rice and oh my goodness...the way that coconut sauce melds with the rice is pure ambrosia! I also wouldn't say this is a lower fat recipe, if you use a can of regular coconut milk as the recipe states it is nearly pure fat! 12 grams per serving to be exact...but we live once, and I personally wouldn't substitute low fat coconut milk in this recipe...so I'm all about clogging my arteries as well LOL but who cares, this was DELICIOUS! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I thought this was very yummy. I used a bit more curry powder (hot madras) and used green beans, carrot slices, red peppers, and potatoes like a dish in the thai restaurant I like does. My husband thought it was good, but said there was something missing. It was fairly healthy with the lite coconut milk and veggies. Easy to make especially since you don't have to marinate ahead of time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States