Thai Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
even with the recommendations from others, this still just wasn't a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Very Good. I recommend sprucing it up some, because it is somewhat bland without. I tried to incorporate several other reviews: Use 1 whole brown onion in addition to the green onion (sautéed in sesame oil), add about a tsp of salt, 2 Tbsp of curry (instead of just one), 3 thick slices of ginger root if you have any (let cook with rice), and 1 clove of garlic. I cooked the rice in coconut milk as well as added more coconut milk to the hot stovetop mixture. A hint: reduce water by 8oz (1 cup) and cook the rice in the coconut milk and remaining water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorklyn, Delaware, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
i knew from the ingredients list and the other reviews this was going to be bland if i didnt do something about it. so, taking a bit of everyone elses advice, i used a normal brown onion - chopped into slices and sauted in normal and sesame oil. i also added two minced cloves of garlic. i then added the chicken, browned it for a moment, then i added 2 tablespoons of curry powder and 2 teaspoons of garam marsala. i added a tin of coconut cream, snow peas, asparagus and very thinly julieneed carrots and let the whole lot simmer gently whilst i cooked the rice - i use basmalti because it is extrodinarily low carb. i threw in a pinch of salt whist cooking and then salted lightly once i served. FANTASTIC! use this recipe like a base and go wild. it really is that good. yes its a thin sauce, but i like it like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This recipe has a lot of potential...but it lacks the spice and flavor you usually find in Thai food. With some modifications, however, it could be a great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Not sure why this got high ratings. I followed the directions exactly and this was VERY bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Disappointing!! Bland..Tasteless. Definately not authentic Thai cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
very bland.....must spice up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
It was too bland for me. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieB!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
The first time I made this recipe I thought that the flavour was rather bland. The recipe needed a lot more flavour for my tastes. I have made some changes that I think add more flavour. I now really enjoy the recipe. To start, I heat about 1 tbsp. of sesame oil, 1 tbsp of minced gingeroot and 1 tbsp. of minced garlic in pan. Then I cooked chicken until no longer pink. I then added the veggies and cook for about 3 minutes. I then add coconut milk, 1 tbsp. lime juice, 2 1/2 tsp. of thai green curry paste, 1/2 tsp. cumin, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, and 1 tsp. chili powder. I also serve it with a garnish of sesame seeds or chopped cashews. The sauce is still rather thin but I still enjoy it over jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
HORRIBLY bland and tasteless. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boujie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States