Thai Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I made this as directed and found that it didn't have the flavor I craved. My humble opinion is that this recipe needs to up the curry powder, add ginger, fresh garlic and maybe some red chili powder if you like heat (which I like I little). Not a terrible dish, but a bit too bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This is a good starter recipe but needs more to make it taste like a Thai dish. I added about 1 1/2 T fresh minced ginger, 3 minced garlic cloves, 1 chopped piece of lemongrass, ½ - 1 t cayenne pepper, 2 T fish sauce, and a handful of leftover mushrooms. After it was cooked I added Sriracha to my bowl for more spice. It satisfied my craving for Thai food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
A tasty meal! I had to spice it up a lot (tripled the curry powder, added some cayenne and fish sauce) but the end result was well-liked by my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
easy yes but totally bland. after all the made adjustments the recipe i was left with didn't resemble what's here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kfar Saba, Mehoz Hamerkaz, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This recipe was excellent, but I used pretty much every suggested addition (i.e. garlic, extra curry, cumin, ginger, salt, etc.), and included one of my own--a nice, heavy sprinkling of cinnamon when the sauce was simmering. It gave it just that extra something that made it wonderful and aromatic. I added probably close to 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, but I also doubled every ingredient in the sauce recipe except for the coconut milk, and the consistency turned out just right, plus we had plenty of yummy leftovers for the next day. Otherwise I think there would be far too much sauce for the amount of rice it suggests cooking. All in all, if you pay attention to the reviews and follow the suggestions, you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Needs more flavor. Ummm A LOT MORE flavor. When I tasted it on the stove I had to do a double check of the recipe cause it was just that bland. Good news is a little garlic salt can go a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
wow, this is going to be one of my stand-by meals. I really liked this. I bought curry powder (a decent brand) at the grocery store. I used broccoli, carrots and green onions. I added currents at the end along with the juice of 1/2 a lime. It needed salt, so I added that to taste. This was a snap and one of those recipes that is really easy to remember. watch tasteslikefood.com and I'll eventually post a picture there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I agree with the person that says this is a good base recipe. I added salt and minced garlic to the chicken with the initial curry powder. With the coconut milk, I added some chili powder and some more curry powder. It would have been very bland without the extra additions. I have to say that my son and VERY picky teenage daughter liked it (my son loved it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was really good. One thing that a lot of people forget is that most Asian food does taste "bland" compared to many others. What I loved about this dish was the simplicity in it that enabled me to taste each and every ingredient. I did add 1 tsp of salt, 1 tsp of cumin, and a dash of cayenne pepper to the curry and chicken. This was for personal preference - I like my dishes to have a little kick to them. It was DELICIOUS though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Reed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This is so bland, its ideas are good but just no flavor especially for Thai food. I even tried to spice it up like someone else recommended and it just wasn't there. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States