Thai Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
easy yes but totally bland. after all the made adjustments the recipe i was left with didn't resemble what's here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kfar Saba, Mehoz Hamerkaz, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This recipe was excellent, but I used pretty much every suggested addition (i.e. garlic, extra curry, cumin, ginger, salt, etc.), and included one of my own--a nice, heavy sprinkling of cinnamon when the sauce was simmering. It gave it just that extra something that made it wonderful and aromatic. I added probably close to 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, but I also doubled every ingredient in the sauce recipe except for the coconut milk, and the consistency turned out just right, plus we had plenty of yummy leftovers for the next day. Otherwise I think there would be far too much sauce for the amount of rice it suggests cooking. All in all, if you pay attention to the reviews and follow the suggestions, you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Needs more flavor. Ummm A LOT MORE flavor. When I tasted it on the stove I had to do a double check of the recipe cause it was just that bland. Good news is a little garlic salt can go a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
wow, this is going to be one of my stand-by meals. I really liked this. I bought curry powder (a decent brand) at the grocery store. I used broccoli, carrots and green onions. I added currents at the end along with the juice of 1/2 a lime. It needed salt, so I added that to taste. This was a snap and one of those recipes that is really easy to remember. watch tasteslikefood.com and I'll eventually post a picture there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I agree with the person that says this is a good base recipe. I added salt and minced garlic to the chicken with the initial curry powder. With the coconut milk, I added some chili powder and some more curry powder. It would have been very bland without the extra additions. I have to say that my son and VERY picky teenage daughter liked it (my son loved it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was really good. One thing that a lot of people forget is that most Asian food does taste "bland" compared to many others. What I loved about this dish was the simplicity in it that enabled me to taste each and every ingredient. I did add 1 tsp of salt, 1 tsp of cumin, and a dash of cayenne pepper to the curry and chicken. This was for personal preference - I like my dishes to have a little kick to them. It was DELICIOUS though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Reed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This is so bland, its ideas are good but just no flavor especially for Thai food. I even tried to spice it up like someone else recommended and it just wasn't there. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
even with the recommendations from others, this still just wasn't a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Very Good. I recommend sprucing it up some, because it is somewhat bland without. I tried to incorporate several other reviews: Use 1 whole brown onion in addition to the green onion (sautéed in sesame oil), add about a tsp of salt, 2 Tbsp of curry (instead of just one), 3 thick slices of ginger root if you have any (let cook with rice), and 1 clove of garlic. I cooked the rice in coconut milk as well as added more coconut milk to the hot stovetop mixture. A hint: reduce water by 8oz (1 cup) and cook the rice in the coconut milk and remaining water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorklyn, Delaware, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
i knew from the ingredients list and the other reviews this was going to be bland if i didnt do something about it. so, taking a bit of everyone elses advice, i used a normal brown onion - chopped into slices and sauted in normal and sesame oil. i also added two minced cloves of garlic. i then added the chicken, browned it for a moment, then i added 2 tablespoons of curry powder and 2 teaspoons of garam marsala. i added a tin of coconut cream, snow peas, asparagus and very thinly julieneed carrots and let the whole lot simmer gently whilst i cooked the rice - i use basmalti because it is extrodinarily low carb. i threw in a pinch of salt whist cooking and then salted lightly once i served. FANTASTIC! use this recipe like a base and go wild. it really is that good. yes its a thin sauce, but i like it like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States