Thai Coconut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
As mentioned by other reviewers: bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Loved this but made some modifications to suit my taste. Sauteed my chicken in sesame oil and a clove of minced garlic then I added the carrot, 1/2 cup asparagus (its all I had), green onion and about 1 cup of chopped cauliflower. Cooked that and then added the coconut milk, some fish sauce, cashews, salt and a ton of red pepper flakes for heat. Mmm, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Loved this dish! My family is vegetarian so the only thing I did differently was replace real chicken with frozen "Quorn" chicken breast substitute. The whole family loved it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
As is this recipe is NOT good and had to be raised from the dead pretty quickly. I didn't realize how bland it was until the end when I tossed in the coconut milk. MY Quick mods - fish sauce, sugar, cyan. However, even with the changes i still would not recommend this one. There has got to be better ones out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turkey Welder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is two recipes in one: 1. How to cook the rice. 2. How to cook the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This dish was great taking into account others' suggestions. I agree with adding more spice to the chicken (masala or tumeric) plus lots of ginger and garlic... also using fish oil to cook it with. I wanted the sauce to be thicker in the end so I also added cornstarch, and allowed it to simmer for another 15 min. on low heat to let the flavors blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
We enjoyed this but it was bland...needs more curry powder. maybe some other flavors too....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I made this as directed and found that it didn't have the flavor I craved. My humble opinion is that this recipe needs to up the curry powder, add ginger, fresh garlic and maybe some red chili powder if you like heat (which I like I little). Not a terrible dish, but a bit too bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This is a good starter recipe but needs more to make it taste like a Thai dish. I added about 1 1/2 T fresh minced ginger, 3 minced garlic cloves, 1 chopped piece of lemongrass, ½ - 1 t cayenne pepper, 2 T fish sauce, and a handful of leftover mushrooms. After it was cooked I added Sriracha to my bowl for more spice. It satisfied my craving for Thai food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States