Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This recipe was okay. I probably would not make it again. 8 cloves of garlic was waaaay too much. I would cut back to 4. I also added bell pepper and carrots to the onion and omitted the peanut butter (just cuz we're not fans). Also reduced the soy to 1/3 cup. Good start of a recipe, just didn't knock my socks off. Served veggies and chicken over jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I loved this idea, but I agree that the salt is overpowering. I couldn't taste the peanuts even though I added unsalted peanuts to the recipe. Imagine this: 1 tbsp of soy has 920mg of salt plus 55mg in 5g of pepper sauce and 75mg in peanut butter. I bet it is the soy...so why not use Tamari and only 4-6 tbsp. 1 cup is dangerous! I might also use more sugar and more peanut flavor..and I prefer Thai peanut sauce although it too contains 115mg per tbsp. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Great recipe. I modified it slightly to suit my style. I cubed the chicken before marinating and added lime juice and fish sauce to the marinade. Tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon E. Hendrickson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I didn't add the red pepper sauce, and still was delicious. TY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. Took advice from other reviews and used just over 1/3 cup of soy sauce and topped it off with enough water to make 1 cup of liquid. I used 2 large boneless chicken breasts, added 1 cup of fresh broccoli. Used Sriracha chili sauce instead of hot pepper sauce. Loved the heat but would not suggest this dish for small kids. Will definitely make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
SALTY SALTY SALTY! I even used the sodium reduced soy sause and it was still very salty. The recipe has huge potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Very enjoyable but definitely in need of cutting back the amount of soy sauce and garlic - I used half of each and found it tasted quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
My boyfriend liked it, but I cooked it a little too long for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Very good! Would have been even better if marinated for several hours instead of just one. Followed advice of many reviewers and reduced the soy sauce to 1/3 cup, and saltiness was just right. The sauce thickened nicely and was even better after it sat off the heat for a few minutes, so give it an extra 5 min. to cool before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This is another recipe that I loved, but my husband only liked. I'm giving it 5 stars anyway, cause I seriously LOVED this! I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts snipped into small pieces instead of thighs. I also used slightly less soy sauce. My husband's only real complaint was that this is very salty, so next time I might substitute half the soy with something else. I also only has creamy PB; can't wait to try it with chunky, and maybe a little bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States