Thai Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Definite keeper for our family. I proceeded with caution when making this recipe, tasting as I went along. I took previous reviewers' advice and: 1.) Reduced the soy sauce to 1/3 c and 2.) Only used half the garlic called for. Also, I omitted the hot sauce from the dish because not everyone in my family likes spicy food (but those who did added Sriracha in their individual plates successfully). I don't know if this review will count as one that is reviewing something severely altered from the original recipe, but this recipe was awesome. In the future, I'll probably add 1/2 to 1 tablespoon more of brown sugar, either omitting or halfing the water called for (or adding a tablespoon of cornstarch - it would have been nice for the sauce to be thicker) and adding some cilantro instead of the green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I hate recipes where I need to read the reviews to know how to make it properly because I don't always have the time to do this. Fortunately, I did this time and cut the soy sauce to 1/3 C which still was a bit on the salty side for us. I omitted the onions since I dislike. It was good, but I wouldn't make this again. I'd rather search for a recipe that wows me. I think it could use a bit more hot pepper sauce too. I really felt like the sauce was more like a zippy version of a beef tips & mushroom dish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I made an account just to review this. I thought it was great and will definitely make it again. Like others suggested, I reduced the soy sauce. I also made this with diced up chicken breast and since I only had a pound thawed out, I used that and scaled the rest of the ingredients down by half. So really, if you consider that, I'd still have used 2/3 of a cup of soy sauce for two pounds of meat, which would have been too much. However, it had a delicious flavor, and was just a little spicy, but had the savory and sweetness of the peanut butter to soften the heat. I also served it with a korean style cucumber salad and jasmine rice. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Less soy, more water...it works. My kid LOVED it and has been asking for me to make again since last time...so i did tonight..it was even better! I accidentally cooked my chicken first, but still let soak in marinate and it still turned about great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This dish is a hot mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
It was veryy salty and I think soy sauce should be less than this..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I thought it was really good, strong flavor and needs peanuts on top. Use low sodium soy sauce for less saltiness. Great with coconut ginger rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I did not like dish at all. After adding peanut butter to the dish it came out too salty. I had to add some honey in dish to enhance the flavor some, however, flavor still was not that appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Very good, but I did not exactly follow the recipe. Instead of soy sauce I uses Gourmet sauce....found at Costco by the soy sauce. It has way less salt and already has some sweetness, so I skipped the step of adding brown sugar. I used 1/2 cup gourmet sauce, 4 cloves garlic, a little ground ginger, 1/4 teaspoon spicy chili garlic paste and a tablespoon of vinegar for the marinade. I cooked the chicken and wisked 1 tablespoon of peanut butter into the leftver marinade and added that to cook with the browned chicken. The whole family loved it, even the little kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUMMIES2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
It has good bones, but is way too salty, even with 1/2 the soy. I think I'll substitute broth for soy next time and just add soy to taste. I liked the crunchy peanut butter with all the garlic and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States