Thai Chicken with Cashew Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
I thought this dish had potential but was way too salty. Next time I will cut back on the fish sauce and add more sugar. Also I think I will add some rice vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I thought this was going to be so good as I was making it, but it was incredibly salty. In fact, we had to throw out most of it. I didn't use light soy sauce either and now I know why the recipe calls for it. Also, it wasn't spicy enough. If I made this again, I would cut way back on the soy sauce and up the spice. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I thought this was okay But I added some Mustard and Butter to it and I thought it was'nt bad afterward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I haven't made this recipe yet, but I think if you'd exchange the soy sauce for oyster sauce, your food would be less salty and more Thai flavored. I received dash of this and a dash of that recipe for Thai chicken with cashews and that be the only thing that they told me different to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I wish I'd read the reviews before making this recipe. It was way way too salty I would cut back on the fish sauce by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This was absolutely spectacular it tasted great and we all loved it. The problem that people have been having is that they follow the recipe directly. So here's what we did: added vegetable such as baby corn, bell peppers and ccarrots, added 2 extra spoons of soy sauce and on top of all this we did a little less fish sauce. Bon appetit. P.s If ur not to strickt on calories you can always at a tea spoon of cream which gives it that extra bit of texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
As written this is a 3 star recipe but with a few minor changes it could easily be 5 stars. First, based on the other reviews I only used 2 T fish sauce. I used 2 Serrano Chilies. For the sauce I would add minced garlic and about 1 T. toasted sesame oil. For the stir fry I used untoasted sesame oil but I think I would use peanut oil next time. This would definitely benefit from the addition of some vegetables. Thanks for an inspiring recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Even with the suggested change of less soy and fish sauce it was still very salty. Although, I did find that the leftovers (to which I added stir fry noodles) was far less salty. Ok for an easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I made a few changes and my one year old daughter loved it. I skipped the cashews and chili peppers. I started out by stir frying fresh carrots with some frozen veggies in my wok. Added fresh bok Choy, mushrooms, and beef slices. It was delicious over a bed of fried rice. Not too salty at all...maybe because I used so many veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States