Thai Chicken with Basil Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
We loved this recipe. I didn't want to have a half open can of coconut milk in the fridge, so I used the whole can and made it more of a 'soup'. Also, I didn't have any fish sauce, so I added some Hoisin sauce and used a Fresno chili and some Thai basil from my yard. It tasted just like the Thai curry coconut soup at our local Thai restaurant. Yum. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Great flavor! I added some bok choy I had in the fridge, otherwise I did not change a thing. After this recipe, we are no longer going out for Thai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
WOW! I didn't expect this recipe to yield such a wonderful result! Follow your own rice cooking instructions, though. I used a high quality fish sauce (and upped it to 2 TBS) and at the last minute, elected to dump the entire can of lowfat coconut milk in. The sauce really reduces to almost nothing when the other ingredients are incorporated. I used 2 c of leftover rotisserie chicken and threw it in at the last minute so it wouldn't be overcooked. Add plenty of Basil. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Wonderful! I didn't have fish sauce so used oyster sauce, also added carrots and bell pepper. I didn't think it sounded spicy enough but it was, I used the amount of pepper flakes called for and didn't add any additional after serving. I chose to serve mine over rice noodles. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elenaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This recipe requires a bit of prep time but it is well worth the effort. Truly a stand out. When you want a Thai restaurant experience without leaving home this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Very tasty. I used light coconut milk and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Delicious - love the fresh basil, definitely makes the entire dish! Had to make a few tweaks due to personal preferences and ingredients on hand: no fish sauce so used 1 tsp. of miso paste for saltiness, leaks and red pepper instead of the onion and mushrooms and added 1 tsp. of red Thai curry paste for some extra flavour. Excited for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I loved this! It tasted so authentic! I didn't have the fresh ginger root, so substituted for ground, and I didn't have the mushrooms or fish sauce either. It was delightful. Next time I will add a veggie mix, and peanuts. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Wonderful, easy recipe, even though I used plain old white mushrooms and less basil because I didn't have enough on hand. My husband & I loved this, but had to find some chicken nuggets in the freezer for my 2 yr old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
We gave this recipe 5 Stars with a few changes based on our personal taste. We like spicey so we increased the red pepper flake, added Hot Pepper Sesame oil, added a bit more soy sauce and added curry. We left out the fish sauce only because it has preservatives in it and I couldn't bring myself to buy it (I have the health curse of reading labels and staying clear of chemicals!) The flavor of this dish was delicious. We added red bell pepper and extra basil, the presentation was great with the colors! Next time we make this recipe we are going to use prawns and aspargus instead of chicken; we feel those two changes will put this recipe "over the top." Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States