Thai Chicken with Basil Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
We gave this recipe 5 Stars with a few changes based on our personal taste. We like spicey so we increased the red pepper flake, added Hot Pepper Sesame oil, added a bit more soy sauce and added curry. We left out the fish sauce only because it has preservatives in it and I couldn't bring myself to buy it (I have the health curse of reading labels and staying clear of chemicals!) The flavor of this dish was delicious. We added red bell pepper and extra basil, the presentation was great with the colors! Next time we make this recipe we are going to use prawns and aspargus instead of chicken; we feel those two changes will put this recipe "over the top." Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Stuck with the recipe pretty much except didn't use the mushrooms, added extra red pepper flakes and at the end I added fresh green beans, green pepper and red pepper slices. Super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
eggplant and bamboo shoots make it better...no soy sauce..add fish sauce instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I loved this dish. Others commented on it not being authentic . . . who cares! Authenticity is not the issue, taste is, and this dish tastes great. Now, that being said, I had to be creative to get this dish to turn out here in Bolivia. In place of fish sauce, I used 1 T anchovy paste and 1 T oyster sauce. I added broccoli, didn't have green onions, used coconut paste (no coconut milk), and tweaked the measurements of the other ingredients to compensate for the sweetness of the coconut paste. My wife was not a fan of the spice (I thought it was perfect) but my 2 year old couldn't get enough! I will definitely make this again. Maybe I'll pull some aside for my wife without spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luke Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Loved this recipe! Only thing I did was add more coconut milk and season the chicken with pepper and garlic powder. Came out just perfect for my taste! I will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
It was good. I doubled up on the milk and added more veggies (zucchini, mushrooms, red bell pepper). I also added a jalepeno for an extra kick. I think next time I wll omit the soy sauce. I ddn't like the color it gave the sauce, kind of unappealling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette aka Wine Snob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Nice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Good dish. I used galanga and ginger. If you want to thicken the sauce, add a bit of corn starch. I served this dish over sticky rice rather than jasmine and the combination was good. I also used fresh Thai chili peppers. Didn't have Thai basil, but the Italian basil served its purpose. Big hit with my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
mmmmm... So good. The ginger gives a great kick and it has a great combination of sweet and spicy. We had it over a bed of rice noodles rather than rice and it was delicious. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moserj2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
very good - very healthy! I had a basil plant growing in my kitchen & this recipe was perfect for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwulleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Maine, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
My husband is a picky eater, and he said it was good. I love thai food, so i found this to be bland. I didn't have fish sauce, so I omitted. I used white mushrooms instead of shiiitake because that's what I had. I added red peppers, spinach, salt, and sugar to give it more taste. Next time I will buy some hot chili to give it that extra kick and I didn't have enough basil. I think sweet thai basil would have given it a better flavor. I also used canola oil instead of olive oil. Would make again if I have LOTS of basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States