Thai Chicken with Basil Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Loved it! NOT soupy whatsoever. Super tasty. I would and WILL make this again. Awesome! Twelve thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Will Longaphie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was excellent! I did use sesame oil instead of olive oil for a little more authentic taste, but other than that I stuck to the recipe. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Blizzard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union Bridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I'm sorry, but neither my hubs or I liked this at all. Not only did this taste NOTHING like our local Thai restaurant's chicken basil dish, it was SUPER bland to boot. Thai basil / ginger might have perked this up a bit, but to be quite honest, this dish simply lacks oomph and authenticity. For starters, I've never had Thai basil chicken with anything other than ground chicken. Secondly, the sauce in traditional basil chicken is SPICY! This sauce was tangy (from the addition of rice wine vinegar) and very mild. Lastly, restaurant-quality basil chicken is made with FRESH veggies (chiles, bell pepper, onion, mushrooms, etc.) and WHOLE basil leaves which wilt as they cook (like spinach) and infuse the sauce with amazing flavor. Maybe this will float your boat, but it did absolutely nothing for us. Thanks anyways, Gabrielle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
YUM! What a different recipe from the normal stir fry I make. My husband has been helping me in the kitchen since I'm 9 months pregnant and I thought this recipe would be a bit of a challenge for him but not too diffcult. You should have seen how proud he was when we tasted it. The flavor of the basil was fantastic. The only thing we left out were the mushrooms since we both don't like them, other than that it was a hit! I will definitely be making this recipe again, we liked the kick the red pepper flakes made and I don't often cook with coconut juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by atbarber
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This was easy to pull together and was full of flavor! I used chile-garlic sauce in place of the red pepper flakes and added some broccoli, red pepper and snow peas because I like a lot of veggies in my stir fry! Will be making this often! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atbarber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Loved this! I added broccoli and poured the reduced sauce over the cooked veggies, rice and chicken and tossed it all together so it would look like what we usually order. The sauce all absorbed into the rice. It didn't taste like our local restaurant's, but it may be even better. I used regular basil, so that may have made a difference. I was leary of the way it smelled but it tasted divine. I didn't find it too salty at all using low sodium soy. I peel and freeze ginger root, so just grated what I needed here. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
maybe its just me but way, way, way, too much basil. to each his own. id like to try this one again with just a tbs of basil or none at all. before trying this recipie as is put a fist full of basil in your mouth, chew, then swallow. if you like it, then you'll like this recipie as is. it wouldve been good otherwise without so much basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This is a simple Asian stir fry recipe that is sure to impress! When I first served this for dinner, both my husband and I had the "wow" reaction. Don't let the list of ingredients intimidate you, this is actually very easy to make. This tastes better than some meals I've had at Thai restaurants. The combination of ginger, coconut milk, basil and fish sauce gave the dish so much flavor. Add this recipe to your weeknight menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I followed this recipe to the punctuation and did not care for it. Way, way, way, WAY too much basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Just a bit too hot--I suggest extra basil if you have it. Don't omit peanuts, they make it just the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States