Thai Chicken with Basil Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This is the best thing I have cooked in a LONG time. I used sesame oil, cut the soy sauce (low sodium) down to 2 T and the fish sauce down to 1 T. You have GOT to use fresh ginger - get it from an asian market if possible. None of this jarred, prepackaged stuff. I went really heavy on the ginger, basil, and red pepper flakes, though I didn't measure any of them so I don't know how heavy. Added a little curry powder since we like things really spicy and a squeeze of lime. Couldn't find rice wine vinegar, so I just used rice vinegar. This is what I always order at Thai restaurants, and I am shocked to say that it was better than I've ever eaten at a restaurant. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Good but nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I actually thought this dish was fantastic. I doubled the garlic, ginger, onions, mushrooms, and the basil. I also want to try the dish with out using the coconut milk in the dish, but rather marinate the chicken with it. I never prepare a dish without using the freshest ingredients. I know that it takes some time to get your mis en plas ready, but when the dish is coming together, it is so much easier and less stressful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalguy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
It was so tasty! Instead of red pepper flakes, I used chili garlic sauce for an authentic taste. I also used holy basil. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valliant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very good, but not one of my family's favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
OK, but bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer.Harrison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marinwood, California, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I thought this is was a great recipe that needed a little tweaking...i lived in South East Asia for many years and feel confident in my perspective of this dish. I felt it needed some more heat so i added more red peper flakes and a bit of cayene I also agree with others that the entire can of coconut milk was appropriate. I also felt it needed more salt instead of less. I added more soy sauce, more fish sauce and a bit of salt. I also added fresh lime juice to brighten the dish. After tweaking it was brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly except that I used button mushrooms instead of shitake as they weren't available. It was really good but not great. To me, it needed a little some "extra". But I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Great made vegetarian with chik'n strips. I used Braggs Aminos instead of soy and fish sauce, and added broccoli and red curry paste. A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This recipe is fabulous! I am a huge lover of thai food and this did not let me down! I didnt have a few things like the fish sauce, fresh basil or fresh ginger but the dried and ground versions of the spices were perfect. I also added more mushrooms and coconut milk than was called for and added sliced zucchini and red bell pepper to it. I love how you can make it spicier with just a touch more red pepper flakes, and it was perfect over steamed jasmine rice. Will make quite often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKWildflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States