Thai Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I used drumsticks instead of wings. These came our delicious! I liked them a lot. As suggested by another reviwer, i dredged my drumsticks in flour and then fried them in oil in a frying pan. After it is browned, i set them on a lined baking sheet and made the sauce. I used a bit less fish sauce, and i only had 1.5 tsp of paprika, which turned out to be perfect for my taste. I skipped the jalapenos and used garlic chili sauce, about 2 Tbs. Instead of putting cornstarch directly in the sauce, i mised the cornstarch with equal amounts of water to dilute it and make a slurry. Then added it to the sauce to thicken. I dipped my drumsticks in the sauce and baked for about 15 min, then turned them, brushed with more sauce and baked another 10min. (bake time is different for wings). I would make this again with wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
OUTSTANDING! I halved the recipe, and stayed true to the recipe. I was worried about those reviews which stated the wings were "fishy", because I am not a fan of fishy flavors. However, I didn't find these to be the least bit fishy. Perhaps different fish sauces are more potent? Anyway, this is a definite keeper. So easy to make, and so incredibly delicious. Thank you so much! My husband and I enjoyed these immensely during the Super Bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was a bit too fishy tasting for my family. Maybe cutting down on the amount of fish oil would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
SUBSTITUTIONS: I used canned/pickled jalapenos instead of fresh peppers and minced garlic from a jar, so I skipped the sautee step and just added everything at once (minus the oil). Instead of chicken wings, I boiled/cooked chicken breasts, cut them up, and stirred the chicken pieces into the sauce after it had thickened. Even with all the changes, it turned out to be a VERY DELICIOUS, authentic Thai flavored dish, and we loved it! I also cut back on the sugar slightly, but my husband said he would have liked it a little more sweet. It wasn't as spicy as we were expecting with all the jalapenos that we added, but you could add hot chili sauce to kick up the heat. Next time we will add some fresh/frozen green beans to the dish. Served it over rice. VERY EASY AND FAST TO MAKE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
The sauce was absolutely delicious, but it just didn't taste right with chicken wings. The sauce has too much fish sauce, in my opinion...made the chicken wings taste very fishy. But I do give 5 stars ***** for the sauce, it just wasn't good on the wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queen_palladium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I marinated these overnight then grilled them the next day. I constantly basted them on the second shelf over a high grill and they were awesome! Sticky sweet with slight bite from the peppers. I am making these again tonight, this time in the oven as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Good flavor - way too much corn starch (which I am amazed no on else mentioned). I used 1 tablespoon and still had to thin the sauce a little to get it to the right consistency. Still, we enjoyed the wings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
My one change was using a quarter cup of Jamaican hot sauce, and boy was it spicy. My husband loved it. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
These wings were easy to make and tasted great! They are a great thing to bring to parties!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Great flavor! I added 2 tbsp honey, a tbsp of Chinese five spice, and substituted De Arbol for jalapeño chilies. Gave it a nice balance of hot/sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJB3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States