Thai Chicken Tenders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Ok, so before my husband and I made this, I checked all the reviews just in case. I kept seeing how "clumpy" and "sticky" the sauce was turning out for a lot of people. Here's what I did to remedy the clump situation: I lessened the peanut butter from 1/2 cup to a 1/4 cup. I also nuked it for about 15 seconds beforehand to where it was the consistency of a thick caramel. Someone else made that suggestion(THANKS!). I also added a 1/4 coconut milk and a tablespoon of wasabi powder as well to counteract the sweetness factor. It was absolutely great! Quick and easy too. I'm just a beginner cook and a newlywed, so this recipe was right up my alley. If you follow my suggestions I really doubt you'll be disappointed, because we sure weren't. Give it a shot guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I try a lot of new things, but unfortunately this turned out to be a pretty bad dinner. The sauce is too much of a paste. Sorry if that is what is intended, but just didn't care for this dish. After reading all of the reviews, I need to add that I did add the water and some soy sauce and mentioned to my wife that minced garlic may help. Just wanted to clarify!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I made this for supper last night and it was a hit with everyone, even my super picky Dad. It's not good left over as I just found out. I test drove a small amount of the sauce with chicken in teh frying pan and quickly added quite a bit of water until it was just slightly thicker than gravy. I also added a few dashes of soya sauce to break up the hoison and peanut butter. Very yummy on its own but I think it just added something. Liking peanut butter is a must here. Good Luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Pearce-Champion

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Lake, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is quick and esay to make. I have made this one twice one by the directions and then with a few changes. The changes I made was mix the sauce together and heat it up in the microwave before adding to the chicken. I added about a half to a cup of water to the sauce as it was way to thick before. Also I added garlic. I used a non-stick pan with just a dab of oil to cook the chicken and added the sesame oil after the chicken was cooked so the oil would not burn, also cut the oil in half as I have pure sesame oil and it is very strong. Next time I will cut the hoisin and peanut butter in half as it makes lots of extra sauce. Will make this again it is very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Farmington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Maybe it's common sense, but if you don't care for hoisin sauce and/or peanut butter, don't prepare this one. Those flavors are prominent and as such dominate the recipe. Otherwise, 1) As others recommend, use a sauce pan to mix the sauce. That makes certain the ingredients are mixed well and will keep it from clumping, 2) I used peanut butter with nuts, which tasted great and is not unusual for Asian cooking, 3) I used a lot of water in the sauce (didn't measure, but at least a cup) to thicken up the sauce. I thought it was way too thick as written. The water did not dilute the flavor at all, 4) I only had 1 tablespoon of sesame oil left, so I mixed it with peanut oil and it was a good choice. This recipe is so easy that I can imagine throwing it together for a snack or "different than the same ol'" quick lunch quite often. Strong, but good flavor if you like the main ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Most recipes I've made from this website, my husband has rated as a 5 or 6 (on a scale from 1-10) but he gave this recipe an 8! I loved it too. I recommend mixing the peanut butter and hoison sauce in a separate bowl. It's a little difficult to mix, so I used my Kitchenaid mixer. I added a little sesame oil to make it thinner too. I didn't use scallions. And I served it over rice. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ballard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Townsend, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Our family did not care for this recipe. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Very, very tasty, very, very quick, excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Boy, this recipe needed a lot of help to be palatable. First of all, sesame oil is not a good choice for browning anything. It is strongly flavored and has a very low smoking point. Most Asian recipes use it as a flavoring ingredient, not a frying medium. I used peanut oil to brown the chicken tenders after seasoning them with salt, pepper and Asian pepper spice. After browning, I removed them from the pan to prevent over-cooking. The sauce was way too thick and I thought the flavor rather one dimentional, so I added one tsp sesame oil, ginger, garlic, soy sauce, rice vinegar, 5-spice powder and a little water to thin it. I heated the sauce in the skillet, and when it was hot, put the chicken tenders back in. They were okay, but not very Thai,IMO. There are better recipes on this site. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
It has great potential, I thought it was too much peanut butter but the boys loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States