Thai Chicken Tenders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Sorry -- 4 people and nobody cared for this, tasted like hot peanut butter on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Excellent! A family fav everytime I make it. I occasionally sub Goyza sauce for Hoisin if that's what I have on hand and crushed red pepper flakes for the cayenne. Also, once chicken is browned, I remove from pan, mix the sauce ingredients in the pan then return the chicken to finish cooking in the sauce. This makes for a smooth sauce. Try this recipe, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Good stuff! We changed it up a bit. I wanted to stretch the chicken so added a bunch of vegetables: half a large onion, two carrots, a big bell pepper, some cabbage... For the sauce, we added all ingredients to a bowl and mixed them, adding about a quarter cup of leftover coconut milk and some water(per the other reviews), and several shakes of curry powder. I poured the sauce over the chicken and veggies when they were done, cooking only another couple minutes. The juices from the vegetables and chicken thinned the sauce the rest of the way and it was the perfect consistency. Very tasty. We got four substantial meals from one large chicken breast and two cups cooked rice. Probably also reduced the calories a little that way. Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Awesome! I did what other reviewers said - I put the peanut butter (chunky), ginger, 3/4 cup water and hoison sauce in a small saucepan and heated it up. Cooked the chicken in the sesame oil and then added the sauce. I didn't have cayenne pepper so I used crushed red pepper - made it nice and spicy! Didn't have any scallions so just skipped them. Served it with Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyJak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This recipe was really bad!! It has way to much peanut butter in it and not enough liquid. I had chicken in paste when I got finished. My husband said I ruined good chicken for this and my kids asked me to never fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I rather enjoyed the taste of the dish, but I ditto the thickness that others here have mentioned. Next time I will try to use about half of the peanut butter and hoisin and add some honey to add sweetness. There was just way to much sauce for the amount of chicken. I thinned the sauce out a bit with canned chicken broth. This worked pretty good. Loved the flavor overall, just a bit to much thick peanut butteryness. Was great over white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Yummy! I used this basically for the peanuty sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This was one of my first recipes I tried off of allrecipes and I thought it was really good. I followed other's advice regarding mixing the sauce separately, etc, and it turned out wonderfully. I will definately be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This has become one of my husband's favorite meals. I've made it with peanut butter and sunbutter (made from sunflower seeds) because out daughter is allergic to peanuts. It is really good with either one. The cayenne gives it a nice kick. The sauce does get a little too thick for us, though. Adding a little water or chicken broth helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This is a good basis for the recipe. Like other users have said the peanut butter definitely needs to be mixed with water otherwise it's too thick. I also fried the chicken in the sesame oil with some red onions and soy sauce for some extra flavour to the chicken. Throwing in some coriander at the end instead of spring onions was also fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States