Thai Chicken Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
My boyfriend and I LOOOOOVE this dish. We follow the exact recipe except we omit the chile peppers (I can't tolerate it; my BF adds extra crushed red pepper to his dish). It's so easy to make and has become our go-to when we're stuck on ideas for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
It was fine but was kind of bland. It just tasted like peanut butter and coconut. It needed more kick. People at the party didn't seem to know what to do with it. We're going to try it today over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I have been making this for years and I am always asked for the recipe. It is very original and people are amazed at how good it tastes. Use red pepper flakes or regular mint if you don't have what is called for. I serve it with cut up pita bread or pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is the first Allrecipes recipe that I have gone wrong with. Usually the ratings always tell the truth, but I have to say, I really did not like this dip. People at the party I brought it to ate it politely, but definitely not a keeper and I threw away the rest. I tried to make into lettuce wraps, but even that wasn't great. Very greasy between the coconut cream and peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
We just loved it with bread toast! Used textured vegetable protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This is similar to a recipe my sister-in-law used to make from Thailand. I add more Thai peppers, a little soy sauce and cooked, ground rice as well. I serve it with cabbage leaves to help cool the fire from the Thai peppers. Sis never made it with peanut butter, coconut cream or mint, so I didn't add them. Not sure if it is fair to rate this recipe, but it is the only one I found even remotely close to hers. So thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I used this recipe (minus the peppers) for the sauce on a thai chicken pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This recipe is awesome! I added green curry paste to give it extra heat and used it in lettuce wraps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This was good and creamy. It's definitely not a mainstream type of dip that would appeal to a lot of people. I could eat only so much of it as a dip, so I added some peas and ate it with rice. Also, the coconut cream was a bit overpowering, and I only used 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Despite my initial reservations while cooking this dip, it was very well received at the party I brought it to. One friend liked it so much she said she could eat it with a spoon. Although it is not all that visually appealing, it makes up for it in flavour and uniqueness. I used red thai curry paste instead of red chilis and I used hoisin sauce instead of fish sauce (personal preference). Nice when you want something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Chef John's Buffalo Chicken Dip

See Chef John’s secrets for making the best game-day dip ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States