Thai Chicken Curry with Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I submitted this recipe, so keep in mind the rating is biased...unfortunately the editors took out my notes from the original submission, but I think there are a couple of things that will help prepare this. 1) Curry paste is a mixture of curry powder, ghee, lemongrass and other spices. It can be found commercially at places like Amazon or high end grocery stores like Bristol-Farms in San Francisco. Any color/flavor of curry will do, as per your preference. They even have variety packs you can get. 2) One can substitute lite coconut milk and it is 60% less calories and fat and tastes the same (also available at places like Amazon). 3) Add 1 tablespoon or more curry paste, depending on your spice level desired. 1 T is about low-medium spice. If you over-spice, add more brown sugar (this only works to a limiting degree). 4) Prepare and stir in rice or cellophane noodles for added texture. Also can be served over rice or with naan. 5) Mix up the vegetables. Add cubed potatoes, beans, mushrooms or whatever. Frozen vegetables can easily be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I'm not a very good cook, but this was easy, mostly foolproof and tasted great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Follow the recipe, it works just right. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was my first attempt with this type of food, and I followed the recipe. I will use a bit more paste next time because I prefer med/spicy, but this was easy and VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
We think this is a great basic Indian recipe to have on hand. Due to food allergies, we had to leave out the fish sauce, peas, green pepper and pineapple (a lot - I know!) - so we just substituted more carrots and served it over cooked jasmine rice. Thank you for this recipe - it's hard to find things that everyone in our family can eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Nice flavour. I substituted breast meat for thighs and red pepper for green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! I have added straw mushrooms before or substituted chicken for tofu and chickenbroth for vegetable broth. It is still delicious! (when substituting tofu: drain tofu, put between paper towels and put weights on top. I usually use canned goods inside of a pan. After an hour, cut the tofu into triangles and sprinkle yellow thai curry on both sides. Fry in 2tbls of olive oil and add to the dish when it is in the last 5 minutes of cooking.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mujo77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I completely forgot to add the pineapple, but the rest of this recipe was fantastic! I had cooked and diced chicken thigh meat so after simmering for 10 minutes I added the precooked chicken and simmered for another 5 minutes or so. I served it over rice noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was a terrific and easy recipe. I doubled the amount of green curry paste, and mixed in basmati rice. Leftovers were great too- next time I will double the recipe and eat it during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This was so delicious!!! I amazed my co-workers who all wanted to taste my fantastic lunch. I didn't use all the veggies, but this was my first recipe that I found on allrecipes.com so I am hooked now....YAY!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States