Thai Chicken Curry with Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I LOVED LOVED LOVED this - tasted just like when we were in Thailand (or the closest I've come since then, anyway). Thank you for sharing! The only change I made was to substitute chicken breasts for the thighs - and I followed the advice above and added an extra tsp of curry paste. AWESOME. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was excellent! As good as our local Thai place. I added yellow squash and sweet potatoes and used my rice cooker to make jasmine rice. Everyone loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Nice mix of spice and sweet...even after I added more...and more green curry paste and powdered curry late in the game. I used bean sprouts, brocolli, shitake mushrooms, green pepper, carrot, green onion and sweet onion and cabbage I had on hand. I added a little of the juice from the canned pineapple mixed with cornstarch as well as having added the cornstarch per directions. I cooked Orzo to use in lieu of rice. Probably could have added the Orzo when simmering as far as that goes. It was too much work de-fatting the thighs...I'll use boneless skinless thighs next time...or tenders...or breasts. Season to taste is the best idea of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Delicious! Definitely almost as good as what you would get in a restaurant. I used shredded meat from a rotisserie chicken and added some sliced scallions, but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I've been using this site for 6 years and this is my first review. Because this recipe was so GREAT! This is as good as restaurant quality Chicken Curry. I will use it again and again. I make it w/ lo mein noodles instead of rice. Rice is god but tends to soak up all the delicious sauce. Thank you for perfecting this recipe for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I've tried making Thai food before with little satisfactory result, but this recipe ended differently luckily. This is a very good basic Thai recipe. I made this without chicken and pineapple and instead substituted a bunch of vegetables (potatoes, baby corn, mushrooms, carrots), some cashews, and some fried tofu and was pleasantly impressed with the results. If there was a 4.5, I'd give it to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This is a great make-at-home Thai recipe for those of us without authentic ingredients around. I didn't even have fish sauce tonight, and sub'd soy sauce. Assembled a different way, too. Browned cubed chicken breast first, then added everything else. The Thai Kitchen green curry paste is great -- a rounded tablespoon gives a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
LOVE THIS!! This is one of my favorite recipes of all time!! I really dont change much besides adding all the vegetables that are in the house in addition to a lil extra spice. also I make it with whole grain wheat rice for a little healthier option. the pinneaple is the finishing touch with a little sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I did not care for this. It was way to bland. Unless you got a pineapple in your bite it was completely flavorless. I even added some thai basil and that didn't even help the flavor much. I did as someone else said and used a little less fish sauce and maybe that is some of the problem...but I can't imagine adding that back would do to much. Sorry, I will NEVER make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Very good curry chicken!! Thanks so much for this recipe. Used chicken breasts because that is what I had on hand. I followed the recipe exactly & it was perfect. Served over brown rice. Next time I may leave the pineapple out just because I think it would be just as good without it. Also made Fresh Spring Rolls with Thai Dipping Sauce & Sukhothai Pad Thai from this website. They were good together although it was alot to prepare at once. TRY THIS RECIPE!!! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States