Thai Chicken Curry with Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I'm not sure what kinds of Thai curry some of these 5 star reviewers have had, but based on what my mother's Thai friends have made for me, this doesn't even come close - lol. That said, it's not a bad recipe. Just not the kind of thai curry that I'm used to. It was way too bland for my liking and I don't think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was very good. The only thing I didn't like was the fish sauce, I will definitely leave that out next time or sub soy sauce. We like our curry hot, so I tripled the amount of curry paste, and it still wasn't very hot, so next time I would add even more and perhaps sub the bell pepper for a hotter type. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandmom26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: West Yarmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This recipe was fantastic! I only had hot red pepper paste (traditionally used for Asian recipes) but it still turned out very nicely. I substituted shrimp for the chicken. I omitted the peas, bell peppers, and used bamboo shoots and some fresh onion. The hot madras curry powder gave it a great spice. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Yum..yum A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I found this extremely bland, and I altered it a bit. I added almost 5 tsp of the Thai Kitchen Green Curry Paste (and it was still very mild), ground ginger, black pepper, oregano, salt, pepper and granulated garlic, as well as half a commercially prepared seasoning mix for Thai chicken. I also added bamboo shoots, fresh bean sprouts, snap peas, green and red pepper, celery and onion. I am researching the traditional Thai spices to see what would bring out better flavour. That said, my husband and 5 year old son REALLY liked it, so that was a bonus, and I will make it again and tweak it more somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was a nice easy, mild curry. I followed the recipe closely except for the pineapple (was out!). I had a bunch of shredded dark chicken meat so I just tossed that in during the last 20 minutes of cooking. Served over basmati rice, it made for an easy tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Wonderful. This is the closest recipe I have found to my favorite restaurant curry. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Soooo good! The only change I made was I didn't add the pineapples. When the recipe was finished I was so happy I didn't. It tasted great without them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very very good. I didn't have the curry paste, but used some lemon grass and extra curry. Everything else was as stated. It was VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I am giving this a 4 because I can't do a 3 1/2. This recipe really does have some good "bones" but does lack some depth of flavor. The fish sauce is disgusting in this and I had to doctor it up to cover up that horrid taste! And I only used 1 tsp....That being said, I added garlic, onions, pineapple juice and basil to make it just OK. It really does depend on the curry you use, too. I think this is a great starting point for what could be an awesome curry!! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Azalina’s Mint Chicken Curry

A Malaysian native shares her secret recipe for spicy chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States