Thai Chicken Curry in Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This recipe was pretty easy to make, and the flavor was pretty good, but it tasted like it was missing something. Next time, I'm going to use more curry paste. Also, I'd recommend removing the chicken, and setting it aside, after adding it to the curry paste initially. (Adding it back a few minutes before the sauce was ready.) That way, the onion, coconut, etc mixture has time to cook a bit and simmer without overcooking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Phenomenal! Used the ingredients as is except for adding shredded carrots, which I cooked with the onions. I did cook the chicken separately with a little roasted garlic oil and the left-over coconut milk, which kept the chicken amazingly moist. At first taste, it did seem like something was missing - a little extra lemon peel and ground coriander made it perfect. I served it on a bed of steamed shredded red cabbage to keep the meal lighter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RADNJ79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
LOVE this recipe, only gave it 4 stars b/c i make it a little differently. my hubby doesn't like fish sauce, so i leave that out and *don't* sub soy sauce. also, i cheat and use a cooked chicken from the grocer. saves time :-) i usually double the onion and triple the curry. we like it a little spicy. also, what this dish is missing is actually SALT. it's much MUCH better with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Pretty good. Soy sauce is a good substitution for fish sauce. The one thing that I would definitely change about this recipe is that 1 teaspoon curry paste is not enough! It was very bland and I made it with almost 2 heaped teaspoons! I am Indian so I am used to eating relatively spicy foods...after eating some of this dish, I determined it was too bland and simmered it again with an additional TABLESPOON of curry paste!!! I also added some red chili powder. After this modification, it was nice and spicy and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This recipe was fantastic! I am definitely not a great cook...so anything that turns out half decent for me will most likely turn out amazing for anyone else. I did change a few things due to reviews and lack of certain items. I slivered 4 garlic cloves and browned them in the oil before adding the curry paste. I did double the curry paste and used a hot/spicy curry paste (amazing!) because we love things spicy. I replace all of the lemon ingredients with lime, and I think I will continue this. Also some finely shredded carrots make the sauce more visually interesting...just my preference! But, definitely going in my recipe-box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
OMG! This was really good. I followed the instructions provided as far as cooking, but I added a bit of coriander, garlic and a whole large can of pineapple along with 1/4 cup of the juice with the cooking chicken and 1/4 cup of juice with the other ingredients. I also cooked lo mein noodles and added those in as well towards the very end. I used 2 tsps. of red curry paste and that was plenty spicy (I think the amount of curry paste should really depend on your personal taste) and used dried cilantro and probably more than the recipe but I like cilantro so... (I didn't really measure it, did it to taste.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabor, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I added chopped garlic to the onions and red pepper mix. Used two teaspoons green curry paste and it was almost too hot. I will make this again with less curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Loved this but with some changes. Added lots more curry paste, carrots and soy. Served over Thai rice noodles. It was good and it was HOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was a very delicious Thai chicken curry and so simple. I didn't have lemon so I substitute lime zest and lime juice. I also increased the curry paste to 2 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I thought this dish was amazing! I didn't have a red bell pepper, so I used a yellow one. I also used regular coconut milk instead of light. I added carrots and served it over fettucini. It is a keeper for our family. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States