Thai Chicken Curry in Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
awesome! my family loved it. i used double the curry paste and would add a Thai chili next time for a little kick. Also added young corn, straw mushrooms and bamboo shoots for more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mona

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Excellent. But have to agree with the others - needed WAY more curry paste (2-3 Tablespoons) and perhaps a bit of salt and cayenne pepper. Peas made a great addition. Perfect served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron Vaisbort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I've made this 3 times now. I substitute stevia for sugar,use regular coconut milk, and use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. It's an excellent recipe for the healing diet-no processed foods and only a few carbs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was really good! I doubled the curry paste and added some broccoli I needed to use up. If at all possible, try to use the fish sauce instead of replacing it with soy sauce. I think it adds something special to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
this was a good base recipe - it was totally edible/enjoyable as written...but with a little tweaking it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
this was delicious! I made it as is except used lime instead of lemon, and the lime added a great flavor. I did also add a tablespoon or so of curry powder along with the curry paste--tried not to make it too hot for the kids. Good complexity of flavors in this dish. My DH and 8- and 5-year old gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbcam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was delicious, but I added more paste as well - more like a tablespoon. I didn't use the lemon zest, and I actually sauteed the chicken, peppers and onion in the oil, added a little chicken broth, then the rest of the ingredients. I used a dash of fish sauce and a bit of soy, and omitted the cilantro; my husband HATES chicken and he had two helpings! Serve over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I agree with Lucy that a slight improvement can make the taste go further. Personally, I would marinate the chicken with a bit of chopped onion and curry paste separately first, let it sit for about 15min. first,cook the rest of the ingredients, then add the marinated chicken for both flavour and not overcooking the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Substituing salmon & baking this dish in the oven @ 375 for ~25 min. brought me back to Hana, Maui where I first had it. We like to eat it with rice so I make sure it has enough coconut milk to accommodate. The chicken version sounded dull but with substitutions I give it a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Really nice, easy starter recipe - I made the following alterations that made it more tasty: - Added salt and some sugar (around a 1/2 tbsp salt, 1tbsp sugar) - Tripled the curry paste - Added about 1/2 tbsp cayenne pepper flakes (I like it spicy!) - Doubled amount of red pepper - Added ~1tsp more of fish oil - Added ~1/2 tbsp more of freshly squeezed lemon juice I was really happy with how this turned out with these alterations. Served it on basmati rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mms09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States