Thai Chicken Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This was pretty good...my first time trying anything with leeks! I think it tastes best with half regular green cabbage and half Chinese napa cabbage. I used at least 2 tablespoons of chile sauce, which I added just after the noodles. I may cut back on the amount of noodles next time because after a day or two they absorbed all the juice. I'll continue making this recipe from time to time. **UPDATE** It's been a couple of years since I made this soup and now I've tried it again and made additional discoveries. First, if you're using spicy garlic sauce, two teaspoons will suffice and add 1 tablespoon of brown sugar. If you're using sweet garlic sauce, use 1 tablespoon and add a dash or two cayenne pepper. Secondly, to avoid loosing all the broth to the noodles, cook the noodles separately, then add them to the soup after the cabbage is just about tender, plus an additional cup of broth and 1 cup of water. Trust me; you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This didn't seem really Thai-ish to me except for the chile sauce at the end. So I added a small stalk of lemon grass that I whacked with my rubber mallet to crush it a bit, and a few kaffir lime leaves to the broth while it simmered. I also added a teaspoon full of something called "Hot Spice Powder" which I picked up at our local international market. The ingredient list is: white pepper, salt, spice; so I'm not really sure what all is in it, but it tasted good in the soup. I used about a cup of teeny, tiny, skinny Fideo noodles. The result was delicious. DH put too much chile sauce in his serving, and complained about the heat, but that was his own silly fault. We both really liked this. Will definitely make it again. Oh, and I removed the lemon grass and lime leaves before serving. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is a decent Southeast Asian cabbage soup recipe, except that it's missing one important element: FISH SAUCE! Add that, and you'll find the flavor you're missing in the original recipe. **Update: I've made this recipe a bunch of times now, and by far the best is with garlic chili sauce (in the jar with a green lid). Also, it's better without noodles - they get mushy in leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This is my favorite recipe on the site.. Probably my favorite recipe, period. Great tasting, filling, and not horrible for my health. Great combination! Now, the biggest weakness of this recipe, in my opinion, is that the broth really gets soaked up by the noodles, so leftovers get mooshy. However, there is a solution! Buy "no yolk" egg noodles and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Fantastic one pot recipe - easy, healthy, filling and looked great when served up. There was no need for me to add any extra seasoning during the cooking process. Thai sweet chilli sauce complemented the dish perfectly. There was just enough flavour from the stock, leeks and from poaching the chicken in the soup base. I poached the chicken in 4 cups of chicken stock and then added another 3 cups of vegetable stock gradually when the fluid level ran low during the cooking of the vegetables and noodles. Thanks for posting this recipe, Jessica. Definitely a dish I will make regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
This has become one of my favorite soups. If I don't have egg noodles, I substitute broken spaghetti. Definitely shred the cabbage rather than chopping it, and I use 1/2 head instead of the whole one. There is something intoxicating about the flavor of this soup that makes me crave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA LASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Redgranite, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Very good. Added a little carrot for color/taste. The chili sauce makes it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This is great soup! I thought I had Thai Chili Sauce when I started making this, but actually had Thai Red Curry Paste, so went ahead and put that in - 2 rounded teaspoons, with a little chili powder and some ground pepper and extra salt, and it was delicious. Thanks for a wonderful basic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Good easy soup. I didn't have the Thai chili sauce, and I think it would have been even better if it had a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Juat wonderful. I had this for lunch today and it really hit the spot. I made this last night since soups alawys taste better the second day. :) I used buckwheat soba noodles instead of egg and used 4 ounces instead. It was plenty. I also used napa cabbage instead of regular cabbage and tossed in baby carrots instead of slicing the large ones. It did absorb most of the broth overnight, so I just added a little extra stock to the bowl I reheated. The chile sauce really is great in this. I'll make this again this winter I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States