Thai Chicken Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!! I was looking for a chicken-cabbage soup recipe; had leftover chicken, a bit of stock, a head of cabbage and a few other odds & ends ingredients that I didn't know what to do with them, but this recipe helped me tremendously! I had to improvise somewhat, but the end result rocked the house! I used diced jalapenos and red onion in place of the chile sauce and leeks (which I didn't have), as well as whole wheat pasta instead of egg noodles. Topped it off with a dollop of sour cream and chopped cilantro. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Best chicken soup I've ever made. I didn't add the Thai spices and I used a pkg of Ramen noodles instead of egg noodles because my pot was not big enough. I will definitely make this again and maybe try to get a bigger pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
SOOOO Yummy. With or without the thai sauce it's amazing. I didn't have very much chicken stock so I added water and boiled chicken thighs instead of breasts. It was very tasty and produced a lot more broth in the end... the noodles soak up a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDSAYBRIERE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
It wasn't very tasty. I'm not a great cook, but I know I can do better than this. I was really disappointed, but what's worse is that this recipe makes a lot! It needs plenty more spices, which I didn't add because I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Excellent! Looking for a recipe for cabbage fresh from the garden, found this one. We loved it. Added a couple extra thai peppers and lemongrass, and used amish egg noodes (hand on hand). Can't get enough, will definitely make again. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
WONDERFULLY DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Loved it. We used 2 heaping T of the sweet chili sauce and a large onion instead of the leeks. I tasted it before the chili sauce and it was chicken noodle soup. After the sauce it was asian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I was disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This soup is amazing! I am trying to make new soups and I had all the ingredients for this one, so decided to try it. I did steal ideas from other reviewers to make it more Thai: added 3 stalkes of lemon grass added bok choy with cabbage added 5 cloves of garlic used noodles from the asian market and added separately Loved it! The chili sauce really made this. My partner ate this down so fast and I thought he would not like it! I would have given 5 stars, but without the additions, it would have been a bit boring. Great soup base though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmamach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I have made this several times, maybe 5. DH likes it, I love it. I have a pot on my stove now, that I have added garlic and a peeled finger of ginger to. I never have leeks so I've always used onion. I add extra low sodium chicken broth and/or water to help w/the noodle issue. Always add sriracha. Have even added a bit of sesame oil in the past, and have a lime to add to this batch. It's a great simple healthful soup as is, open to a little interpretation. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States