Thai Chicken Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
My family and i loved this soup. I used vermicelli noodles, green onion (instead of leak) and Tai Garlic Chilli sauce (as well as sweet chilli sauce) as that is what i had on hand. My husband and i added HoiSin and Sriracha sauce in our own bowls to our tastes.. and the kids either leave it as it or add some Hoisin.. they call it asian chicken noodle soup. SO good.. So easy .. and healthy! I served with low fat chicken cilantro dumplings. Will be making this MANY more times. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Husband turned his nose up at it when he saw me making it as he is not a fan of cabbage; However, he really enjoyed it and said he was surprised by how good it was. Definitely needs the Thai sauce though. I added some while simmering but also added more to each individual serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This was delicious. I did add a few things just based on reviews, my personal preference & what I had on hand. Used 4 cups of chicken broth and 4 cups of lime/chile flavored chicken broth. Added minced ginger (about 3 slices. Added a stalk of young bok choy & half a head of green cabbage, a small package of snow peas, green onions & carrots. Towards the end of the simmering time I added about 1 TBSP of fish sauce & 1 TBSP of chile garlic sauce (the one with the green lid). I left out the noodles all together. It was wonderful, just enough spice & zip and super healthy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I'm afraid it was not a success at our house. Way too bland and tasted of flour from the noodles. Waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This a very good base recipe with room to grow. I usually add lemongrass, kafir lime leaves, and dried chilis. If you have the time, let the lemongrass simmer for awhile (30-60 mins) before you put the cabbage and noodles in for the last 5-10 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I made this for a Wednesday meal at church and it received rave reviews. I did make some changes. I added fish sauce, ginger, lemon grass and sesame oil as suggested by other reviewers. I bought a cold roasted chicken(lemon herb flavor) from grocery store, pulled off meat and made the stock with the bones. Since it was going to be kept warm over a long period of time I didn't use the noodles. They would have soaked up all the broth. Everyone said it tasted like soup from the Chinese restaurant. I will definitely make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was good but seemed like too much chicken. I added a little fish sauce like other's suggested! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrisMac
Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I really liked it and so did my husband. It not only tastes good but it's good for you. I used Iron Chef Thai Sweet Chile Sauce in it. I wasn't sure if we would like it but it was even more delicious. Trader Joe's carries sliced frozen leeks that simplified it. Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Needs a lot more flavor (as many others had mentioned). I used fish sauce, sesame oil, garlic, red chili paste & seasoned rice vinegar. Ramen noodles added at the end do not absorb the oil like many other had indicated occurred with the egg noodles. Topped with sliced snap peas & some cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Nice! Hmm! Chili sauce in a 'typical' chicken noodle soup. The chili sauce was a surprisingly nice touch as is. ��CROCKPOT FRIENDLY! This is a very versatile soup base, as discovered when comparing it to similar soups.�� Freeze some 'base' & serve 'typically' (dumplings, potatoes, rolled pasta). OR use a touch less broth or up the carrots and *maybe* cut the cabbage back or ?maybe? skip it altogether, & fully skip the meat & pasta, & puree! A great pureed, carrot soup, hot or cold! Make a double/triple batch, puree one part. Use on part for chunky soup: when time to serve, add a bit more broth IF needed, chicken, pasta (or rice, or maybe even rice noodles, or buckwheat soba, change it sometimes), & if you are like me, some spinach, cilantro, &/or sliced green onion for color, vitamins & flavor (peas, snow peas or anything green would work nicely). Other seasonings that go well with this as an oriental soup include: 2'sh Tbsp. of lime juice, soy sauce, &/or smooth peanut butter (natural works fine, especially for the pureed portion). Also, in smaller doses, a touch of sugar &/or sesame oil. For any pureed portion of the soup, some soy milk or dairy of choice will add a nice creamy touch. Deciding to add more of one seasoning to one half of the soup, & more of another seasoning to the other half of the soup, while adding pasta & meat to the one and adding dairy to the other helps us make one pot of soup into two rather distinct creations. Now, that's my idea of great cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States