Thai Charred Eggplant with Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Very tasty and satisfying! I reduced the sugar, and added a bit of soy sauce for some saltiness. Also I used brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Really nice and easy. it was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Yummy! This has so much flavor! And it uses simple ingredients. The eggplant practically melts into the sauce. I'm bbq'ing my eggplant whole from now on. It actually only took about 10 minutes, and I turned the heat down to medium, on my brand new Weber (bragging, sorry). I only had one small eggplant, so I added some broccoli from my garden. I pressed my tofu, sliced it into about 3/4-1" slices, then marinated it for about an hour in a marinade of oil, soy sauce, ginger, garlic, mirin, and rice vinegar, then cooked it on foil on the grill for about 15 minutes. I added a small tomato as somebody suggested, for color and to make it a little saucier. I have a salt tooth, not a sugar tooth, so I cut the sugar in half and added soy sauce. I love spice, but thought the three serranos would be too much heat for me, but once I put the whole thing over rice, it was fine (for me). Definitely not bland. I think next time I will try adding some coconut milk to the sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Great flavor. I skipped the cilantro, used some of a dried habanero instead of the chilies, so the dish had some real heat to it. Have to say that peeling the eggplants was not fun at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I made some changes (used 1 eggplant, no cilantro and less basil, fried the eggplant slices, sprinkled some soy sauce on the tofu, and used red peppers instead of chile). It was excellent and very flavourful. I served the dish with white basmati rice cooked in vegetable stock. Will definitly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This is a wonderful tasting dish, especially during the summmer months...I choose to brush the pepper sauce on the tofu slices and then grill each side until brown. I also rubbed oil on the eggplant and charred them on the grill. Then I added to the pan with the sauce and eggplant. Enjoy! Cydney Walton Trenton, New Jersey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
I did not make the eggplant for this recipe. I just made the sauce for the tofu. I left out the chile peppers and put in 2 teaspoons of peanut butter. I also used a half a lime in the sauce and then a half a lime once cooking it was finished. I loved the taste of the sauce, but I agree with one other reviewer who said it was missing something. I did not find it too sweet and next time I make this I think I will put in a little more sugar/splenda. Also, I will use less basil next time b/c it was a little overwhelming. I served mine over white rice and thought it was a good complete meal (tofu has tons of protein). I will make this often because tofu often needs some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I used a bit of Swamp Fire hot sauce in the recipe because it needed something else. I also didn't use Cilantro because the stuff tastes like Ivory soap to me. The flavor with the added hot sauce which had a bit of a vinegar base was actually good. I liked the tang and the heat. I served over a very nice rice pilaf which could stand alone in flavor. Also I didn't grill the Eggplant but broiled it. Worked just fine. In fact it was suprisingly good. It does have a 'bland' color scheme which I spiced up with more colorful veggies in the pilaf and on the side. DO NOT USE SILKEN OR SOFT TOFU for this. You need something waterpacked and firm to extra firm. I used Steak grilled tofu extra firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
great for me...not Bob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rx 2 RV
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I agree with other reviewers that the tofu needs something. Other than that, I enjoyed this dish. I prepared the eggplant differently: cut into 1/4 inch slices, salt eggplant slices and let sit for 20 mins. then rinse. Lightly brush slices with olive oil then grill on BBQ until slightly charred and a little soft. I left the skin on and it gave the dish more color. I also used a combination of serrano and fresno peppers. The fresno peppers are milder and added a little red color to the dish. I used 1.5 serranos and 2 fresnos and it was almost too hot for me. Next time I will cut back on the chilis. I used fresh thai basil instead of the standard grocery store variety. I didn't have a problem with it being too sweet...used white onion and 1 heaping tablespoon of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rx 2 RV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States