Thai Charred Eggplant with Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
very good taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This is a wonderful tasting dish, especially during the summmer months...I choose to brush the pepper sauce on the tofu slices and then grill each side until brown. I also rubbed oil on the eggplant and charred them on the grill. Then I added to the pan with the sauce and eggplant. Enjoy! Cydney Walton Trenton, New Jersey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Really nice and easy. it was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
i hate eggplant!!! peeling it was a pain and i add some soy and fish sauce to the pan...it ended up alright. i think eggplant and i dont get along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
The flavor for this dish was great! I didn't like the texture of the tofu though. I think it would have been better to fry or grill or something first. Also I thought it needed a little more sauce if your going to serve it with rice. Needs tweeking but really good place to start. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I added some chisen toban (Chinese Miso) and a little oyster sauce because I found this recipe sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
I tried this a couple of times -- the first time my eggplant kind of exploded, so the dish wound up mushy. The second time I sliced it and brushed it with oil. It was better, but I had to add a little sour cream into the sauce. I thought it was good, but my husband didn't like the texture of the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
It was great, but it needed somthing or needed to be served with some sort of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
I did not make the eggplant for this recipe. I just made the sauce for the tofu. I left out the chile peppers and put in 2 teaspoons of peanut butter. I also used a half a lime in the sauce and then a half a lime once cooking it was finished. I loved the taste of the sauce, but I agree with one other reviewer who said it was missing something. I did not find it too sweet and next time I make this I think I will put in a little more sugar/splenda. Also, I will use less basil next time b/c it was a little overwhelming. I served mine over white rice and thought it was a good complete meal (tofu has tons of protein). I will make this often because tofu often needs some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Possibly this recipe did not work out because I used soft tofu rather than hard and didn't have any basil, but I found it too bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States