Thai Charred Eggplant with Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
very good taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This is a wonderful tasting dish, especially during the summmer months...I choose to brush the pepper sauce on the tofu slices and then grill each side until brown. I also rubbed oil on the eggplant and charred them on the grill. Then I added to the pan with the sauce and eggplant. Enjoy! Cydney Walton Trenton, New Jersey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Really nice and easy. it was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
i hate eggplant!!! peeling it was a pain and i add some soy and fish sauce to the pan...it ended up alright. i think eggplant and i dont get along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
The flavor for this dish was great! I didn't like the texture of the tofu though. I think it would have been better to fry or grill or something first. Also I thought it needed a little more sauce if your going to serve it with rice. Needs tweeking but really good place to start. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I added some chisen toban (Chinese Miso) and a little oyster sauce because I found this recipe sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
I tried this a couple of times -- the first time my eggplant kind of exploded, so the dish wound up mushy. The second time I sliced it and brushed it with oil. It was better, but I had to add a little sour cream into the sauce. I thought it was good, but my husband didn't like the texture of the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
It was great, but it needed somthing or needed to be served with some sort of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
I did not make the eggplant for this recipe. I just made the sauce for the tofu. I left out the chile peppers and put in 2 teaspoons of peanut butter. I also used a half a lime in the sauce and then a half a lime once cooking it was finished. I loved the taste of the sauce, but I agree with one other reviewer who said it was missing something. I did not find it too sweet and next time I make this I think I will put in a little more sugar/splenda. Also, I will use less basil next time b/c it was a little overwhelming. I served mine over white rice and thought it was a good complete meal (tofu has tons of protein). I will make this often because tofu often needs some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westchester, New York, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Possibly this recipe did not work out because I used soft tofu rather than hard and didn't have any basil, but I found it too bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States