Thai Cashew Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
the end result came out pretty good.. always using what i have on hand i made the following modifications: cut the soy (low sodium) and fish sauce in half, fearing it would be salty as others had complained about.. reduced the hot pepper sauce (Sriracha) to 1 T.. subbed dried ginger (1/2 t) for the fresh.. only had powdered sugar in the house so used 1 t (we don't care for sweet anyway).. added red and green bell pepper to the onion mixture.. reduced the water to 1/2 cup, added only 1 T of pb, but it still tasted overpowering to me.. and cut the cashew amount in half.. we enjoyed the end result but don't know if we would have liked the original recipe more.. ty for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Love it, with some MAJOR adjustments. Olive oil instead of sesame. 1/4 Tbsp hot red pepper instead of hot sauce. Doubled the chicken and peanut butter. Will double onion and garlic too next time. Only 1 Tbsp soy sauce. 2 Tbsp fish sauce. 5 extra Tbsp water. And there you go! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jade
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
For those who mentioned that it was too salty, I agree but simply added a bit more brown sugar and more peanut butter. I also added green onions and cilantro, which was a great complement to the dish. As another reviewer suggested, I cooked the cashews a bit. Lovely dish, will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marilyn58
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Made this today. Icy weather in Tennessee so I had to make something that I had all the ingredients for. Glad I did. This is delicious. The only things I did different: Marinated chicken for only an hour because of time. Didn't have sesame oil so I used peanut oil. Added a red pepper cut up in large pcs and one carrot cut up small. Thought it needed some color. I think cilantro would kick it up a notch. I didn't have any unfortunately. This is a keeper and one to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marilyn58

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Great Recipe! I have made it several times and never had a problem with the salt (I've used both regular and reduced sodium soy sauce). The biggest problem is remembering to marinade the chicken in advance, it's so good - I don't want to wait!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I ventured to the local Asian grocery and found all needed ingredients. This recipe was very tasty, although I added some sliced peppers and mushrooms. My wife has this at our local Thai resturant and said it was just as good. What a compliment coming from her. We will definitely be cooking this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
The original is a little too peanut buttery so I cut it down to just a spoonful, about 1Tbsp. In addition to a little toasted sesame oil and the cashews it had a nice nutty flavor. I didn't have fish sauce but I did have cod liver oil, so in went about a teaspoon of that, at the end of course (CLO is very sensitive to heat). It tasted great. All the flavors blended together nicely and made one nice big umami flavor. Thanks for sharing your tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ransomedheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Really good! I would reduce the soy a touch because it can be a bit salty. I also made some sugar snap peas with this. The whole family loved it; I have made it quite a few times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Too salty, I couldnt finish the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States