Thai Cashew Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jade
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
For those who mentioned that it was too salty, I agree but simply added a bit more brown sugar and more peanut butter. I also added green onions and cilantro, which was a great complement to the dish. As another reviewer suggested, I cooked the cashews a bit. Lovely dish, will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marilyn58
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Made this today. Icy weather in Tennessee so I had to make something that I had all the ingredients for. Glad I did. This is delicious. The only things I did different: Marinated chicken for only an hour because of time. Didn't have sesame oil so I used peanut oil. Added a red pepper cut up in large pcs and one carrot cut up small. Thought it needed some color. I think cilantro would kick it up a notch. I didn't have any unfortunately. This is a keeper and one to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marilyn58

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Great Recipe! I have made it several times and never had a problem with the salt (I've used both regular and reduced sodium soy sauce). The biggest problem is remembering to marinade the chicken in advance, it's so good - I don't want to wait!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I ventured to the local Asian grocery and found all needed ingredients. This recipe was very tasty, although I added some sliced peppers and mushrooms. My wife has this at our local Thai resturant and said it was just as good. What a compliment coming from her. We will definitely be cooking this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
The original is a little too peanut buttery so I cut it down to just a spoonful, about 1Tbsp. In addition to a little toasted sesame oil and the cashews it had a nice nutty flavor. I didn't have fish sauce but I did have cod liver oil, so in went about a teaspoon of that, at the end of course (CLO is very sensitive to heat). It tasted great. All the flavors blended together nicely and made one nice big umami flavor. Thanks for sharing your tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ransomedheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Really good! I would reduce the soy a touch because it can be a bit salty. I also made some sugar snap peas with this. The whole family loved it; I have made it quite a few times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Too salty, I couldnt finish the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
used to tofu instead of chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I always try to stick as close to the recipe as possible the first time i make it...the first time i made this it indeed was waaaaaaaaaaay too salty. However, it enjoyed the flavor, so i gave it another try and the next time i made it i used only 1 tbsp fish sauce and 1 tbsp soy sauce and 1 tbsp rice vinegar. This resulted in a much more palatable marinade. I also changed the oil i cooked the chicken in to peanut oil and added a fresh hot pepper (serrano) and a red bell pepper to the mix. I served all of this over rice and some fresh bean sprouts and topped with fresh cilantro. I also toasted the cashews (just to deepen the taste and increase the aroma) and added some sesame seeds. I also squeezed a wedge of lime over the finished dish. Lots of additions that i felt kind of freshened/coloured it up, while still respecting the original recipe. This has become a regular dish in our home. Thank-you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pipsy D

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States