Thai Cashew Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I was disappointed with this recipe because it sounded so good, but it was way too salty and very heavy. Perhaps it would be better with less soy and fish sauce, and a few vegetables added to it. However, I don't think I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Great recipe. I love Thai food, so I am always on the lookout for dishes I can make at home. This recipe would work well with pork, beef and turkey too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
The flavor was very good...in spite of the *awful* smell of fish sauce :-( Wonder who ever came up with the idea of ingesting something that smells like that! Anyway, if you like Thai food, this recipe is good. I will not use so much chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
Sorry, didn't really like this one. It was not quite a chicken satay dish and not quite a chicken and cashew nut dish. Also, the marinade made the chicken too salty. Only just edible so won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
I made this recipe last night. We all loved it, including my 2 young daughters (8+5), and my 2 teenage boys from Hong Kong. I will be including this with my regular recipe rotations! We did not find it too salty or too spicy...just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This is really good and easy. I bought some of the ingredients at an Asian food store and received some great tips from a Thai employee. So be careful and inquisitive relative to the fish sauce that you use. Some are salty and some are not so salty. I used a not-so-salty version but still had too much salt for our family's taste. Next time I'll cut down on the soy sauce. All in all, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Sounds like some others didn't enjoy this recipe too much, but my boyfriend and I loved it. I made it at his place though and he doesn't have measuring spoons, so I just guessed on the amounts--I went light on the fish sauce (which smells funny but everything tasted good) and heavy on the red pepper sauce, and everything turned out great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
Not bad but not what I was looking for. I'm searching for a Thai cashew chicken recipe like the ones I get from Thai restaurants - which have more of a clear sauce. I read the reviews saying it was too salty, so I substituted some of the marinade for chicken stock - and I think that helped. Not bad, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
This was okay. The flavor was almost overpowering and I had to eat it with huge spoonfuls of rice to compensate for it. Also, I had expected the marinade to cook up saucy because it didn't contain any sort of thickening agent (and I followed this recipe exactly) but it actually turned out to be very heavy and pasty. I will say it was interesting, but not at all what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
very tasty and easy to make although I will cut on the peanut butter nest time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States