Thai Cashew Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This was soooo good - my whole family loved it! I used a dash of crushed red pepper instead of the hot sauce since I worried that it might be too spicy for my kids otherwise, and that seemed to give it the right amount of bearable kick. I went heavy on the brown sugar to counter the saltiness of the soy and fish sauces and it seemed to be just the right mix of flavors. I did not add the water since it seemed that I already had enough sauce from the marinade and the chicken, and that worked out great. I thought it needed more veggies so I added some shredded carrots to the stir fry, which turned out to be the perfect addition. Also, I cooked udon noodles separately and then tossed everything together at the end. One more thing - I highly recommend that you flash-fry your cashews in a frying pan with a little oil until they brown - it only takes a couple of minutes and it makes such a huge difference in the flavor! This was a very tasty dinner that I will be happy to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I loved this one!! I didn't think that it was too salty and neither did my husband (usually I like salty food and he doesn't). I added a little extra ginger because I love it so much. Next time I think that I'll add fresh sprouts, grated carrot and broccolli since this recipe was lacking in the vegetable department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Polson, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This is one of my favorite recipes. I like to add some green vegetable...celery, snow peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
There must be a typo in the ingredient list, as this is SO SALTY it is impossibe to eat. I followed the recipe exactly, but wish I would have listened to a previous reviewer that stated HOW SALTLY this recipe is. I had to actually rinse the chicken of all the sauce just to salvage dinner. What a waste. I would give NO STARS to this, but it won't let me post my comments with out giving it at least one. Oh well....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Decent recipe, but I would increase the hot chili sauce (or specify brand/type) and make sure you buy the good fish sauce. Frying the cashews might also help a bit. Also, make sure you don't reduce the temperature of the oil & brown sugar mix, have the onions ready before mixing them. Otherwise you'll end up with caramel when it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was pretty awful. The sauce was horribly salty, even though I used the low-sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This is delicious and easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This was very easy to make and quite tasty... very filling and the sauce was perfect. Not too thick or too runny. I marinated the poulet for about 4 hours and doubled the garlic... did not have gingeroot nor did my grocery store so I used the pureed stuff.. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
OUTSTANDING! The only thing we changed was, we substituted green onion/scallions in place of the regular small onion. Not losing this one. Thanks Caroline C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
I made this just how the recipe was written. It was very tasty. It is a bit salty but not so salty that I thought it was distracting or anything. My husband said it is "a keeper" and my three year old even liked it. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States