Thai Cashew Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe is a stand-by dinner when I don't know what to make. It always comes out great. I don't like my food too salty, but did NOT find this recipe to be salty as others have said, could be the fish sauce used, which is important. Don't be afraid of the sound of it, you can't skip the fish sauce! I also like to use the amino soy substitute for the shoyu. My husband and I like spicy food, so we use at least the recommended amount of chili - preferably the garlic chili paste that comes in a jar with green lid. This is soooo good I'm making it again tonight (over some sticky Japanese rice!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonoko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was a tastey dish. Just a little saly though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Good, but really heavy. Used low-sodium soy, so salt wasn't much of an issue, though I might cut down the fish sauce a tiny bit. I added 1 c. fresh broccoli and think I will add 1.5 cups next time and well as at least .5 cup snow peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I tried the sesame oil:brown sugar ratio suggested by the recipe and burned everything. I tried again with 1 tablespoon sesame oil and one-half tablespoon of brown sugar, and it was fine. You should definitely add some vegetables to this: I threw in a bag of frozen broccoli after the chicken had been browned, but before the marinade reserves and water were added. I also added more peanut butter (about 1 tablespoon extra). With these changes, the recipe became something my boyfriend and I really enjoyed eating. I'll make my modified version regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This recipe is easy, taste great, and my kids love it. - What more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This is a really good recipe. I didn't have a problem with the salt. I did add broccoli to it, and I am not sure I would have loved it without the broccoli. That is why I gave it 4 stars. Having just meat and rice would have been lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Brooklet, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Amazing. I added some broccoli and peppers for some vege's and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was really yummy, but really pretty salty. Granted, if I had low sodium soy sauce, it would've helped a lot probably, in which case I might have put five stars. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
yum, Yum, YUM!!!! This recipe was a total hit. I followed it exactly except for I was a little concerned about all the reviews about it being too salty (and I HATE salty food), so I used low-sodium soy sauce, and added the 3/4 cup of water to the marinade instead of waiting until the cooking part. It turned out great! I will definately be making this one again and again. The only thing I plan on doing differently the next time I make it is probably to double the marinade and add veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is excellent and worth the work. I didn't change anything, but I did add more vegetables. More cause I was craving green than anything else. Snow peas, bok choy and celery are nice additions. I did do the peanut butter sauce, but next time, if I add it, I'll only do 2 tbsp. I could really taste the pb. Tasting during cooking made me wish I'd skipped it altogether, the brown sugar/sesame oil made a fantastic glaze on its own. When you do the oil/sugar mix, make SURE you're only on med heat. Trust me, it makes quite the mess of your pan if you don't pay attention. Also, toast the cashews for a couple minutes first. But I will make this again. And it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States