Thai Basil Rolls with Hoisin-Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This sounds exactly like the Vietnamese salad rolls that I love at a local Pho restaurant - I can't wait to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Made these tonight as our local food carts serves these and I loved them. I made mine vegetarian and I added lettuce (like the food carts do). The recipe says to soak the wrappers for about 30 seconds, it took only about 15 seconds for mine. I noticed when they started rolling up on the edges that it was time to take them out. So good and so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
So good! A little bit time consuming, but worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This is an amazing recipe. The combination of the fresh mint, basil, and cilantro is so fresh and delicious and the sauce (made as stated) was wonderful. I made a vegetarian version adding shredded seeded cucumber and shredded carrot. I also added a sprinkling of chopped peanuts inside the roll for added crunch. I did not have Thai basil so just used the italian basil from my garden. I used fresh organic veges and herbs. Tasted as good /maybe better than the same rolls at my favorite Thai restaurant. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Did not do it for us. Perhaps we put too much herbs but it was over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Excellent! I used avocado slices instead of noodles. Also put a dash of cayenne in the sauce and a bit more peanut butter & water. I used dried mint (a dash in each one) instead of fresh mint. I used Morningstar Sausage Links instead of the pork to make it faster and it was fantastic. Overall, it is time-consuming to put them together (but I tend to be a bit slow). I did it for 2 people and it took about 30 minutes to roll 7 of them. But well worth the time! I couldn't have rated it higher! I want them again tomorrow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeekendWarrior
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Served this as a side to some Pad Thai. The recipe was fairly easy to fix and tasty, but I wasn't keen on all the mint it required. I will be scaling back next time or maybe replace it altogether with cabbage. I did add shredded carrots and substituted the pork for some leftover brisket laying around and that didn't seem to hurt it much. I LOVED the peanut sauce! I look forward to doing these again so I have an excuse to make the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeekendWarrior

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is a new family favorite. I love the Thai Basil and mint but my kids (young adults) Don't care too much for it. We just make it to suit our own tastes. I used precooked shrimp and pork as well. I added shredded carrots, a cabbage mix, and sliced french fry size cucumber sticks. I reduced the hoisin sauce to 1/2 cup and I added a tbls. of Mae Ploy sweet chili sauce. I squeeze fresh lime on each bite of my rolls. Love it!!! To the people who are upset about the origin of these rolls, whether they are Vietnamese or Thai, I assumed they were called "Thai Basil Rolls" because they contain "THAI BASIL".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamblessedx7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Fresh Spring Rolls are so tasty on a hot summer's day. I think I will try them on a cold Winter's day as well. Thank you for a new twist on my favorite way to make these. The Cilantro and bean sprouts and a crunchy and tangy flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I made these for a themed party and they were great and very fresh tasting! I left out the pork and added carrot and cucumber. I also made some with avocado instead of shrimp. The sauce was a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybast

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States