Thai Basil Rolls with Hoisin-Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This was so awesome! These were better than the ones I’ve had at local restaurants. They are labor intensive but completely worth it. This was my very first attempt at dealing with rice paper and I found it easy to roll. All the ingredients paired perfectly with each other and went harmoniously with the hoisin dipping sauce. I used a little less mint and it still came out wonderfully. Very wonderful experience, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This sounds exactly like the Vietnamese salad rolls that I love at a local Pho restaurant - I can't wait to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Made these tonight as our local food carts serves these and I loved them. I made mine vegetarian and I added lettuce (like the food carts do). The recipe says to soak the wrappers for about 30 seconds, it took only about 15 seconds for mine. I noticed when they started rolling up on the edges that it was time to take them out. So good and so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
So good! A little bit time consuming, but worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This is an amazing recipe. The combination of the fresh mint, basil, and cilantro is so fresh and delicious and the sauce (made as stated) was wonderful. I made a vegetarian version adding shredded seeded cucumber and shredded carrot. I also added a sprinkling of chopped peanuts inside the roll for added crunch. I did not have Thai basil so just used the italian basil from my garden. I used fresh organic veges and herbs. Tasted as good /maybe better than the same rolls at my favorite Thai restaurant. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Did not do it for us. Perhaps we put too much herbs but it was over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Excellent! I used avocado slices instead of noodles. Also put a dash of cayenne in the sauce and a bit more peanut butter & water. I used dried mint (a dash in each one) instead of fresh mint. I used Morningstar Sausage Links instead of the pork to make it faster and it was fantastic. Overall, it is time-consuming to put them together (but I tend to be a bit slow). I did it for 2 people and it took about 30 minutes to roll 7 of them. But well worth the time! I couldn't have rated it higher! I want them again tomorrow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeekendWarrior
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Served this as a side to some Pad Thai. The recipe was fairly easy to fix and tasty, but I wasn't keen on all the mint it required. I will be scaling back next time or maybe replace it altogether with cabbage. I did add shredded carrots and substituted the pork for some leftover brisket laying around and that didn't seem to hurt it much. I LOVED the peanut sauce! I look forward to doing these again so I have an excuse to make the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeekendWarrior

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is a new family favorite. I love the Thai Basil and mint but my kids (young adults) Don't care too much for it. We just make it to suit our own tastes. I used precooked shrimp and pork as well. I added shredded carrots, a cabbage mix, and sliced french fry size cucumber sticks. I reduced the hoisin sauce to 1/2 cup and I added a tbls. of Mae Ploy sweet chili sauce. I squeeze fresh lime on each bite of my rolls. Love it!!! To the people who are upset about the origin of these rolls, whether they are Vietnamese or Thai, I assumed they were called "Thai Basil Rolls" because they contain "THAI BASIL".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamblessedx7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Fresh Spring Rolls are so tasty on a hot summer's day. I think I will try them on a cold Winter's day as well. Thank you for a new twist on my favorite way to make these. The Cilantro and bean sprouts and a crunchy and tangy flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States