Thai Banana Salsa with King Prawns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
My boyfriend loved this recipe, but unfortunately I didn't. I found the taste of the fish sauce and all that cilantro too strong. The prawns that the recipe called for are just too large - you have to eat a bite of prawn, then a bite of the salsa. If you like cilantro, you should try this recipe - but I suggest you use small shrimp that can be eaten with the salsa in the same bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
i loved this recipe! altho perhaps calling it a 'salsa' is a tad misleading. it's best eaten with plain rice, asian style, which might explain why the flavors were too strong for some reviewers, hehe! try a small teaspoon of this on a large rice cracker as finger food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I was looking for something outside the usual meat'n taters. This was an unexpected spicy/tangy taste kaleidoscope! Didn't have any fish sauce so I used soy instead-- worked great! Also subbed the red pepper with red pepper flakes, as it's what I had on hand. And finally, subbed with queen-sized shrip instead of king prawns. One thing I wasn't sure about was whether the dish should be served warm or cold. Guess I'll have to taste test both! I will definitely make this interesting dish again. (Gave it a 4 since I didn't follow the exact directions.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This is an interesting combo and so very delicious! Very easy to make as well. I have made this many times and love it the more I make it! I mix the prawns in and eat it with a spoon I love it so much! Goes good served as an appy with french bread too. If you love cilantro, mint and lime juice you will love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Brilliant, the Salsa was amazing, used it with fish cakes instead of prawns. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wishmouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Very good (and pretty)! You may think the salsa dressing is too salty/limey at the beginning, but it sweetens a lot after the bananas are added. King prawns were a little too dear for me, so I used large shrimp. You may want to chop your bananas & cucumber smaller to make this more like a salsa, I just brushed my shrimp with the dressing and ate it all like salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Gave this 4 stars because I changed it so much from the original but what a great base to start with! I eliminated the cilantro and put in only 1/4 tsp. of the thai fish sauce (1 tablespoon of that stuff would put me off fish for a year!) I will increase the bananas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Delicious! Will let it marinate overnight and have for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I used a Serrano chile pepper, soy sauce instead of fish sauce, splenda instead of brown sugar, and ginger from a bottle. It turned out great. I halved the recipe because I figured it would not be good as a left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
By far and away one of my favorite Thai salad recipes...makes quite an impression at a dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States