Texican Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
This was really, really good. It was like a squash nacho or something. Definitely something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
Excellent recipe! I received many compliments. Don't change a thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This is easy and absolutely fantastic! Yellow squash was out of season, so I used zucchini and it worked great. My 7 year old stepdaughter wasn't crazy about the squash, but said if I made it with broccoli it would be "perfect!" I'm going to give it a try - seems like lots of different veggies would work! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I thought this recipe was just so-so. When I took this out of the oven, I was kind of expecting something with a little more TASTE. This recipe was kind of bland. I even added more cheese because we are cheese freaks around here. The eggs also give it a really weird texture when baked. I don't think it is really worth your time to try it. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wapakoneta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I love this recipe. Goes great with a mexican food or give a great vegetable change for a side dish with beef or chicken. Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Comfort food using summer garden squash. Tasty and ingredients can easily be added to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Photo by cookin' for cash
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Think of this as a cornmeal crusted yellow squash quiche with and a crispy topping. 5 stars for ease, and the idea, but it needs help! I sauted the thinly sliced yellow squash with a chopped large onion and garlic till softened, I added cumin, cilantro, smoked paprika. I used a 7 oz can of green chilies, used only 1/2 of the cheese. I added a sliced garden tomato on top of the filling, before the extra chip topping. I served this with a fresh garden salsa, green beans and cucumber-tomato salad (most of our dinner came from our garden!) I made two 9" pies, and baked them for 30 minutes. I LOVE that I can use the broken tortilla chips in the bottom of the bag instead of making a bottom crust! Wish I'D thought of that, and will use the idea for other savory pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Out of eggs so subbed 3 C cottage cheese for milk and eggs. Added diced jalapenos in place of green chiles. Terrific casserole that seems to keep well in the fridge a day or two for lunches. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I didn't have green chiles on hand, so I added a can of Rotelle with tomato, pepper, and cilantro along with 1 tsp of red pepper flakes and chili powder. It was fantastic. My husband who hates squash, but loves salsa even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This turned out very nice, we really liked it and will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States