Texican Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This was delicious, even with the differences I had to make because I didn't have the full amount of some ingredients! I only had 1/2 pound of cheese, but it was still good. I can't wait to try it will full cheese! I also wasn't sure how heavy my squash was as I only used one very large squash from my garden? No corn chips? No problem! I used crushed tortilla chips and pita chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
My husband, who has two favorite squash dishes, LOVED this! I didn't have chips, substituted Ritz crackers. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin' for cash
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Think of this as a cornmeal crusted yellow squash quiche with and a crispy topping. 5 stars for ease, and the idea, but it needs help! I sauted the thinly sliced yellow squash with a chopped large onion and garlic till softened, I added cumin, cilantro, smoked paprika. I used a 7 oz can of green chilies, used only 1/2 of the cheese. I added a sliced garden tomato on top of the filling, before the extra chip topping. I served this with a fresh garden salsa, green beans and cucumber-tomato salad (most of our dinner came from our garden!) I made two 9" pies, and baked them for 30 minutes. I LOVE that I can use the broken tortilla chips in the bottom of the bag instead of making a bottom crust! Wish I'D thought of that, and will use the idea for other savory pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Comfort food using summer garden squash. Tasty and ingredients can easily be added to suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Out of eggs so subbed 3 C cottage cheese for milk and eggs. Added diced jalapenos in place of green chiles. Terrific casserole that seems to keep well in the fridge a day or two for lunches. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Our family favorite recipe around the holidays. Really excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I didn't have green chiles on hand, so I added a can of Rotelle with tomato, pepper, and cilantro along with 1 tsp of red pepper flakes and chili powder. It was fantastic. My husband who hates squash, but loves salsa even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I found this recipe because I wanted to try a new way to prepare squash. I give this 4 stars because of the changes I made. I halved the eggs, milk, salt, flour, chilies and baking powder. Sliced three medium sized squash. I also added some sauteed diced onion. Seasoned with a generous helping os freshly ground black pepper. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
HUGE disappointment! I guess I should have read the reviews first... as I really couldn't agree more with the majority of them... very tasteless. Not sure how this got 4 stars with so many poor reviews. Save your time and effort... instead fry up the yellow squash with some garlic and mexican style spices instead and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
We thought this was a real nice change for squash. I used Fritos for the chips and Monterey Jack with jalepenos for the cheese. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States