Texas Tornado Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I needed a recipe to use up some friut cocktail. , So I was attracted to the easiness of the recipe. I baked it as cupcakes for a bake sale. This was the comment from my husband..."This is the WORST Thing you have ever made. " It didnt do so well at the bake sale. So needless to say I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This recipe didn't go over well at our house. We all found it tasteless and bland. It needs salt, vanilla...and probably spices such as ginger or nutmeg or cinnamon. However, the texture was very nice, and the topping was good. Because this cake had no flavor, I made a butter/brown sugar/half-n-half butterscotch sauce to pour on top. That's the only thing that saved it. I think it'd be a pleasant little coffee cake if salt and spices were added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
it's really a favorite cake for my dauther. but she like curhed pineapple and shredded coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This cake is fabulous! I made it as directed, including the butter glaze another reviewer mentioned (with the exception of the coconut, as I didn't have any on hand). My kids had 3 pieces each (normal limit is one, but this cake was so good, none of us could stop eating it), and my 5yo DD exclaimed, "This is the best cake I ever tasted!" This cake doesn't disappoint - plus, it's very easy. Definitely 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This is definitely easy, but I didn't think it had much of a taste. Perhaps it was the fruit cocktail that I used? I guess go for a good brand or cut up your own tasty fruit. Pineapple and peaches tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This recipe is wonderful! My family loved it. I didn't last two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
My daughters made this for my birthday...and I must say, it was one of the BEST cakes (moist!) I have EVER eaten! It is so unusual and soooo gooood! You'll have absolute raves with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Fast and good. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I baked this cake years ago. It is simply delicious! It's great for a crowd. Here is how to make the icing: 1 stick of butter 3/4 cups sugar(regular) 1/2 cup evaporated milk 1 cup flaked coconut Boil sugar, butter and milk for 2 minutes. Add coconut. Spread icing on cake while icing and cake are hot. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This cake is great. I had the recipe and lost it while relocating to another state. There was a butter sauce with coconut that is poured over this cake and it makes it heavenly. Wish you had posted the sauce recipe as it makes the cake. The fruit cocktail should be totally drained in the recipe I had. Thank you for posting this. I'll watch to see if anyone else has the butter sauce recipe to pour over it. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States