Texas Style Chicken Tequila Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Em
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is a good recipe but it would be blend if followed exactly. So, here are the changes I made: (1) Use cooking spray. Butter would be too heavy and the leftover is greasy. (2) Marinated whole chicken breasts with 3tbsp each of soy sauce, lime juice, and tequila for overnight. To make the paste (made a day ahead): (3) Doubled the amount of the ingredients for the paste (I actually shopped 2 jalapeno peppers myself!). (4) Also added ~2/3 cup finely chopped cilantro. Sauté the garlic, jalapeno and cilantro together then added the chicken stock, tequila and lime juice (doubled the volume of the liquids too) and simmer to a paste (took ~40min). (5) Drained marinate and brown the whole chicken breasts. Removed the chicken breasts from pan, let cool slightly then tear to strips about the width of 2-fingers. This gave a much better texture than cubed. (6) Because I didn’t think the flavor would be enough with just the paste so in a small saucepan, I reduced 1 cup of chicken stock with 1/2 cup of tequila, 3 tbsp of lime juice, 1tbsp of soy sauce to ~1/2 the volume. I think in the future, I would use more tequila, stock and lime for the paste and eliminate this step. (7) Sautéed the pepper slices for 1 minute and remove from pan (don’t over cook). (8) Sautéed the onion slices then mix in the chicken strips. Sprinkled a pinch of flour (to absorb grease). Mix well. (9) Mixed ~1tsp of arrowroot starch (or any thickener) with ~3/4~1cup of half-&-half, then added to the chicken/onion mi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I love this recipe! My husband and I have been making this for over a year and it is our favorite. It is delicious over rice or pasta. Unless you love heavy cream, I would recommend using about 2/3 the recipe amounts. For tequila lovers, use up to two times the recipe amounts for stock and tequila. It is also much quicker to put the chicken in one skillet and the veggies in another so you can cook them at the same time. A pinch of cayenne also makes a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Delicious! But I had to make a few of my own changes to get there. I left out the oil and used much less cream (extra chicken stock for liquid). I used yellow bell pepper instead of red & green, and seasoned with extra lime, sea salt, and cilantro and a small bit of honey at the end. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Great dish. I used green bell pepper, and white onion. Instead of using heavy cream I doubled the chicken broth. I also added green chile and used corn starch to thicken once the flavors cooked in. This one is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Update to my previous review! Ok, I've done this dish now four times and it has to be in my top 3 chicken dishes I've prepared so far from this great website. It's sooooo tasty! To make things more interesting, I doubled the amount of tequila! Other than that, I followed the recipe as instructed and it turned out absolutely great. As a side-dish, I cooked the Mexican sour cream rice and it's a great combination...along with savory deviled eggs! An absolute winner of a combination and dish! Kudos to Brenda, the author of this great chicken recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This was soo good! I made a few substitutions though, I used tequila sunrise (a gift I will never drink) and I left out the cheese mostly because I forgot. Served over rice. It was such a nice light meal and I'm sure the orange changed it alot but this will be made many many times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
We make this all the time! Grill the chicken- it is really good this way. We like to add a whole onion-it is not too intense, just adds more veggies. you can add whatever color peppers suit your fancy. Penne pasta is our favorite to pair w/ this. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Even my picky son likes this one. It took me 30 minutes to thicken the sauce, but it turned out great. Served with Mexican rice and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Whew! Can I say YUM!!!!! Served this dish over rice, it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paoli, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Justin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This is good stuff! Although it took me about 45 minutes to cook the sauce down to a paste. I added fresh ground pepper and a little cumin. Omitted the green and red peppers. Served it with spaghetti. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States