Texas-Style Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I have made these numerous times and each time I do, I love them more. Instead of putting in just hamburger, I brown a pound of Jimmy Dean Smokehouse sausage. Makes it marvelous! Also, I drain a couple of cans of those beans, otherwise they are really soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Extremely excellent! Very hot/spicy and wonderful flavor. I used Louisianna hot sauce instead of Tabasco and baked mine in the oven instead of crock pot. I don't like crock pots much, everything comes out wet and floating in liquid. I put them in a big baking pan and baked them at 350º for about an hour. It worked great. I prefer baked beans to be thick, not swimming in juice. I used two 32 ounce cans of Van Camps regular pork and beans and drained the excess juice off the top of the cans. I used pork sausage instead of hamburger and it was so good. I cooked the onions with the sausage when I browned it. Fantastic baked beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I LOVED these beans! They were a big hit at a cookout we had, as they have a nice mix of spicy and sweet. As a conoissuer of spicy food, I couldn't get enough. I followed the recipe to a tee, but per other user recommendation, used Jimmy Dean sausage instead of the ground beef. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
These are good. After reading the reviews I whisk 2 tablespoons of cornstarch with some bean juice because I wanted a semi-thick juice. Also I added another can or green chili’s, and since my barbeque sauce was already sweet, I only added about a tablespoon of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is absolutely the best recipe for baked beans I have ever tried. I take them to an annual pig roast on Canada Day every year and almost everyone wants the recipe. I prefer with with no meat added and the lack of meat does not change the flavour one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
These are the BEST baked beans we have ever tested. The sausage made a big difference - wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I have looked for a great recipe for baked beans for 30 years...this is it folks!!! I will NEVER use a different recipe again. Like others, I substituted Hot Jimmy Dean sausage for the hamburger meat and left out the Tobasco altogether (as I was taking it to a church pot-luck where there were lots of kids). I have never had so many requests for a recipe before. This is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
I liked this recipe but thought it was a little watery. I will drain two of the cans of beans first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Boy these were delicious! I only used 1/2 lb. of sage sausage because I wanted the meat to be in the "background" in this dish. I also sauteed the onions in the sausage pan before I added them to the crock pot. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAYHEYPAULA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Not too hot, not too sweet. I only used 1/2 the bbq called for as I didn't want the bbq sauce to overpower the beans. I also used 2 tbl of sriracha instead of the hot sauce. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States