Texas-Style Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I have made this a few times for groups of friend. And it was a big hit each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Excellent! I used Frank's Hot Sauce. Tabasco might be a little too warm with that quantity. The aroma when I opened the slow cooker got everyones attention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I LOVED these beans! They were a big hit at a cookout we had, as they have a nice mix of spicy and sweet. As a conoissuer of spicy food, I couldn't get enough. I followed the recipe to a tee, but per other user recommendation, used Jimmy Dean sausage instead of the ground beef. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
I make this recipe all the time now. It's so easy and it is always a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMcGavin
Living In: Candor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Not bad! Used a honey/smoke BBQ sauce (already in the pantry)and I think I should have decreased the brown sugar to compensate. A little sweeter than I'd like, but I DID like the slight smokey flavor. Maybe regular BBQ sauce, keep the sugar and add some liquid smoke? I'll try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
These were good - I love that you can make them in the crockpot! Will make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
These are good. After reading the reviews I whisk 2 tablespoons of cornstarch with some bean juice because I wanted a semi-thick juice. Also I added another can or green chili’s, and since my barbeque sauce was already sweet, I only added about a tablespoon of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
I liked this recipe but thought it was a little watery. I will drain two of the cans of beans first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I have made these numerous times and each time I do, I love them more. Instead of putting in just hamburger, I brown a pound of Jimmy Dean Smokehouse sausage. Makes it marvelous! Also, I drain a couple of cans of those beans, otherwise they are really soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-89 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States