Texas-Style Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I've made this bean recipe. And I love hot spicy stuff. But if you really want to bring out the flavor of a "chile". You need to roast them. Get some Poblano chiles, wash 'em and roast them over an open gas flame (not inside the house). They aren't very hot but will add an incredible flavor to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Crowd pleaser! I have made a modified version of this recipe three times to take to cook outs. Each time, there are no leftovers at all and multiple compliments. The changes: My version uses mild country sausage instead of hamburger. Instead of a whole cup of BBQ sauce, I used 3/4 cup of Sweet Baby Rays sauce. That was all I had in the fridge the first time I made this recipe. Then I added 1/4 cup of ketchup to make up the difference. I substituted Texas Pete hot sauce. (It's a local favorite, similar to Frank's and not nearly as hot as Tobasco sauce.) And I drained most of the juice from the cans of beans. Also, instead of using the crock pot, I cooked these in a large foil pan in the oven with some bacon pieces cut up on top. 350 for about an hour. This recipe is a keeper. The chilies, the spices, and BBQ sauce really set these baked beans apart from any other I've had. Not too sweet either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I like to put a variety of beans in (White, Pinto, etc.). May mix in a little bacon, pork, or whatever else I have laying around. Alway a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hugo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I made this for work, I have been told this was great, 3 people request the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Made these for a charity event and they were wonderful. I did leave out the green chiles and hot sauce. Got several compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
perfect! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I have been making this recipe for several years now and think it is the best baked beans recipe out there. I did follow some of the suggestions made by others and have used sausage instead of beef, double the amount of green chili and have used fresh roasted when available, and do drain at least one can of beans to prevent it from being too soupy. I am a big fan of the Bush's Grillin Beans and have also used those a couple of times, which led to a slightly more intense flavor. These are always a hit at family gatherings...all I can say is Yum, Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Just made this recipe today! Absolutely delicious but did make a few changes. First thing to mention...I almost doubled the recipe and used half the tobacco & it still has kick! Beware, 3 tablespoons could light you up if you're not a spice person! I wanted to make a large crockpot full, so used 6 cans of beans, drained off top juices in 2-3 of them. Wanted more meat, so cooked 1 pound of jimmy dean regular sausage, 1 pound of 90% lean hamburger, and cooked 2 chopped onions in with meat. Put 2 cans of green chiles in. added extra 1/2 tblsp of chili powder & garlic powder. I did not double the bbq sauce, I only added maybe 1-2 extra tablespoons, and no extra brown sugar. Lastly added maybe 1 tablespoon of worschesthire. If you really like your beans sweet, go for the extra sugar, but I don't. I thought they were plenty sweet. I love that the bbq flavor doesn't dominate this dish, have been looking for a baked bean dish that isn't your typical ketchup brown sugar mustard dish, wanted something less sweet, more meat. LOVE IT! I'm sure it will be a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Tried this recipe for our 4th of July cookout. They are the bomb! I followed the recipe too, except I did drain off the liquid from the beans and cooked them in the oven for an hour. If you like tasty and hot, these are the best. Will be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States