Texas Stuffed Grilled Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
My husband and I made these over the weekend for my parents, and we altered the recipe just a bit. We left out the ham since we're not fans of it, and replaced the cheddar cheese with swiss. We sauted the mushrooms and onion together with a lot of minced garlic (YUM!) and then placed the mix in between the patties with a bit of shredded swiss. Then after the burgers were done, we put swiss singles on top... YUM! I couldn't find hickory seasoning, so we used Mrs. Dash's hamburger seasoning to cut back on the sodium and it was quite tasty. My dad is usually the burger grilling king and is picky about his burgers, and he scarfed his down! We will definitely make these again. They are a lot of work, but SO worth it. Next time we're going to try stuffing with Rotel tomatoes with green chillies, jalapenos, and pepper jack cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wallace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I too changed the servings to scale down the recipe. I made it for 4 people and used bacon in place of the ham. This was great! Next time I will use Pepper Jack Cheese. Everyone loved these. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
The recipe has been corrected to make smaller burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
We just loved these! We made them much, much smaller maybe totaling 1/3 pound of beef per burger and of course cooked them for a lot less time because they were thinner. Even at 1/3 pound total they were plenty big! You can cut the filling ingredients in half and still have enough. I used the scaling function and changed it to 2 servings and that fed my family of 5 with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
My husband loves burgers on the grill. He has a new favorite because of this recipe! Great twist to the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Although I am a vegetarian, I made the stuffed burgers last night for family. They were huge! I substituted the hickory seasoning with chili powder as well and evryone seemed to enjoy them. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Used crisp cooked bacon pieces instead of ham, used Swiss cheese then added a slice of Provolone on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
AWSOME!!! We use this recipe, but make 1/4lb patties. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Seibert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harriman, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Holy huge! I cut down the recipe for 1 pound of beef, and still made 4 burgers with it. Instead of stuffing the burgers, I mixed the ham, cheese, etc. into the beef and just cooked them indoors (it's been snowing for days here). Hubby said they were his new favourite and I'm inclined to agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
this was really great! i made it without the ham and it was yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

Grilled Chicken Burgers

Put a healthy and delicious turn on typical grilled burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States