Texas Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Very good!! I would probably add another two or three jalapenos next time, just to spice it up a bit more. I used "light" ranch dressing & 2% shredded cheddar to cut down on the fat and it was fantastic - a nice change from some of the sticky sweet cole slaws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Great! My husband, who doesn't ever eat cole slaw, raved about this recipe. Made for a large party, 40 people, and many commented on this side dish. Easy to make, delicious and unexpected. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYMBNY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
A great blending of ingredients. I've been on a coleslaw kick lately, having tried a number of new coleslaw recipes. This recipe is not the best I've had, but it's very good. It's still coleslaw, but with a fun and adventuresome Tex-Mex twist. It was a bit dry upon first mix, but after adding a dab of extra ranch dressing and after it sat for awhile, it became plenty "wet." So, I may not have needed to add more ranch dressing after all. The kick is about right for me. Please note: The cilantro flavor is prominent, nearly dominating the taste. Like my wife, if you aren't a fan of cilantro--reduce it or leave it out. I'm not a big fan of cilantro, but in this salad--it just works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This was really different and good. I also added some onion to the recipe. It definitely is better after sitting 24 hours, liked much better than eating right away. Nice change of pace from regular coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This recipe was pretty good, but no out of this world - I would decrease the dressing by 1/4 cup (I used Maries lite ranch and it was too creamy for my taste). I only had one jalapeno available, and I think that it definitely could benefit with the suggested amount of two jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
This is excellent! I believe NOTHING should be left out. I used fat free ranch and it was wonderful. The ingredients blend so well and for those worried about the jalapeno, I chopped them fine and it wasn't overwhelming. This slaw should be eaten the day it is made, in my opinion. The leftovers were not as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Loved this one. Everyone enjoyed the change. If everything is cold I will wait to mix just before serving. Cheese got a little soft this last time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
My family really enjoyed this recipe. We added purple onion because we believe the holy trinity of southwest cooking is jalapenos, cilantro and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
Everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Trem
Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Very Yummy. I used reduced fat ranch dressing.. and less of it, fat free cheddar and only one jalepeno pepper. I think I went a bit heavier on the spices than the recipe called for. I'll be making this again as it's a nice change from traditional coleslaw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States