Texas Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Was most requested recipe at the potluck. Strangers were hunting me down for the recipe. Deliciously different exactly as posted. Easy to make and with common ingredients. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
It was wonderful. My friend I shared it with could'nt figure out the ingredients but let me know that they really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I am always asked to bring this slaw to all of our family gatherings. I have made it following the directions and have also made it with jalapeno ranch dressing instead of the regualar ranch and omitting the fresh jalapenos. Tastes great both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I pretty much used this recipe as a guide, and just eyeballed the different ingredients so it was how we wanted. I used 2 very large jalapenos, maybe half a cup of Ranch dressing, and most of 15.25 oz can of Mexican style corn. It definitely improves if you let it refrigerate for a couple of hours. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This was really great--I'd give it five stars, but I think my adjustments made it a five, not the recipe. I used frozen corn, fresh chopped green pepper and onion instead of the canned corn and added about a 1/4 cup of salsa to the sauce. It was all so crunchy and spicy. By husband couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This is yummy! I didn't have coriander and didn't miss it. I took the advice of others and added some sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This is great slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Very good!! I would probably add another two or three jalapenos next time, just to spice it up a bit more. I used "light" ranch dressing & 2% shredded cheddar to cut down on the fat and it was fantastic - a nice change from some of the sticky sweet cole slaws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Great! My husband, who doesn't ever eat cole slaw, raved about this recipe. Made for a large party, 40 people, and many commented on this side dish. Easy to make, delicious and unexpected. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYMBNY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
A great blending of ingredients. I've been on a coleslaw kick lately, having tried a number of new coleslaw recipes. This recipe is not the best I've had, but it's very good. It's still coleslaw, but with a fun and adventuresome Tex-Mex twist. It was a bit dry upon first mix, but after adding a dab of extra ranch dressing and after it sat for awhile, it became plenty "wet." So, I may not have needed to add more ranch dressing after all. The kick is about right for me. Please note: The cilantro flavor is prominent, nearly dominating the taste. Like my wife, if you aren't a fan of cilantro--reduce it or leave it out. I'm not a big fan of cilantro, but in this salad--it just works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States