Texas Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I was looking for a spicy coleslaw and sadly this missed the mark. Just tastes like ranch and jalapenos- a spicy, soggy salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Loved it. I didn't have any ranch dressing (and I don't like Cole Slaw too creamy) so added about a 1/8 cup mayo and 1/8 cup sour cream. Some dill, parsley and pepper and it was delicious. I also boiled 4 cobs of corn and sliced all of it into the salad so it was quite bulked up and really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is the best slaw ever! I will never fix another kind again. I added a tad of "Slap ya Mama" (cajun seasoning) and now it is a fridge staple...like hot mustard...our family eats it ON hotdogs and hamburgers...the Pittsburgh way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Excellent. Made this for a party at the river. BIG hit. I found a spicy ranch dressing, so I used that and omitted the spices at the end. It had a nice kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I was looking for a recipe to use up our cabbage from the garden and found this. I did make a few changes such as adding Chipolte white corn and subing Chilies for Jalapenos. With my first bite I immediatly thought Shrimp Tacos! So we made that and fish tacos. It was a home run!! Would also bet this would be good on a BBQ sandwich. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope Thomasson Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lyles, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is a wonderful Recipe. You can do whatever you want to it! I bought 8 oz cold slaw bags and used the dressing in the bag - updating it with the recipe spices. I also used ranch and subsituted jalapenos for green chiles. Wonderful all the way around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This recipe was such a downer. I was so excited to make this for my boyfriend and myself. I love one jalapeno slaw in particular and thats what made me start searching for one. This just tasted like ranch dressing. It wasn't spicey. I followed the recipe exactly and once i threw the dressing and the cheese in I knew we were in trouble. Very bland and boring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Our family was bored of the same ol' slaw...(i.e. marzetti's and cabbage) I'm always cruising for something new, this was the perfect answer!! I would also recommend lightening up on the cilantro. I used fresh and it was way too strong. I also left out the lime and jalapeno's, and it was still pretty fantastic! It's bright, crunchy and with the unexpected heat...a delicious twist for boring slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
My new favorite cole slaw!!! Goes great with chicken enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This is not your standard cole slaw recipe, that is for sure! This was an exceptionally nice change of pace! I did alter the recipe a tad, subbing chipotle white corn for the Mexicorn, adding an additional jalapeno, omitting the coriander, using a spicy ranch, and doubling down on the cilantro. I will be making this again. Next time, I will be sure not to seed the jalapenos and might add some black beans into it as well. Not quite a 5-star recipe, but not far from it! Thank you, CINP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States