Texas Sheet Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
My cake turn out very good and moist. This is one of the best cakes I've made and my kids loved it. If your cake don't turn out moist you didn't follow the directions. Keeper in my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyshay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This cake is great. It's not super deep-dark chocolate in flavor, so if thats what you're looking for, this isn't the recipe for you. This is very moist, and almost creamy tasting. I halved it and used an 8x8x2 pan (baked for 25 minutes) and it came out perfect. I didn't have any issues with the icing, as other reviewers had, and I followed the recipe instructions to put the icing on while the cake is still really warm.This is actually better the next day (I think it gets even moister from sitting overnight with the frosting on top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I think there's a very big palate difference between the states and Israel, for there is not other way to explain why this is rated 5 stars and I thought it was awful. The frosting is gritty and feels artificial, and the cake itself tastes like imitation chocolate cake. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gal Benron

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Delish. Very moist with just a hint of coffee flavor. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This is the same recipe I've used for years, except I use buttermilk in place of the milk and a pinch of salt in the frosting. They help to cut the sweetness a bit. I also add 1 tsp of cinnamon along with the dry ingredients for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
SO good! I make this in a 9x13 when I'm not feeding a crowd, I just bake a few minutes longer. Texas Sheet Cake was always my favorite cake growing up, and this recipe makes an even better cake than I remember. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
The coffee makes all the difference. Don't skimp on the coffee flavor. This is the best version of this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whatz4dinner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Very good....want it to taste authentic??? Add a tsp of cinnamon to the cake batter...and pan toast the pecans before adding them. Delicioso!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This cake is absolutely good. I have made this several times, everyone loves it. The key word is MOIST. At first I thought it would be hard to make, but it was just the opposite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AQUIETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Easy to make and a big hit at the BBQ. Took the previous advice of not boiling the frosting, and it came out just fine. No other changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States